Book Avis car rentals at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg

Johannesburg, South Africa - OR Tambo
25 Jun — 2 Jul
Johannesburg, South Africa - OR Tambo
Fri 25/6
Noon
Fri 2/7
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

"Good clean basic ."(in 1870 reviews)
"Good clean basic ."(in 1902 reviews)
"Good clean basic ."(in 1863 reviews)

Cons

"Originally issued a car with no gas and cigarettes badly."(in 116 reviews)
"Total no-hassle rental."(in 1817 reviews)
"Total no-hassle rental."(in 1763 reviews)

Reviews

Overall Rating7.8 GoodBased on 13 reviews
Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
7.8
Overall
7.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.2
Value for money
8.0

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
8
3
2
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
Watch Your Bank/Credit StatementPros:The car was clean.Cons:You will get charged unexplained fees that will double the quoted Kayak rate, including a "fuel service fee" that no one will disclose to you until it shows up on your receipt and credit card statement. I will not be renting with Avis again.Reviewed 7 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
6.4
Make sure u know what u are getting!!Pros:Friendly service but slow as it’s africa! Didn’t get the car I was expecting so had to upgrade half way through rental.Reviewed 14 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Fast , eficient and friendly service.Pros:Good value for money.Cons:NothingReviewed 27 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Drop off was OK, but no closing invoice was issued when I dropped off. I was promised this would be emailed, but this did not materialiseCons:Issue closing invoice on drop-offReviewed 24 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Long lines and staff with serious attitudeCons:Lengthy wait. Staff too busy chatting with each other to assist. No air conditioning in the premises.Reviewed 12 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Professional-looking but service can be improvedPros:The car was clean. When we rented the car, the ladies at the counter took time to explain where we were not insured (we only got PAI and CAD), which we appreciated, since we would probably spend more if we didn't have the extra insurance they promoted at the counter.Cons:We weren't too happy with the car selection. We reserved a Hyundai Accent (or similar), and the car we ended up with had really slow acceleration (VW Vito), which I don't think is at part with the Accent's. When we returned the car, the guys who received it said we would get our invoice within 5 working days, despite us insisting for our invoice. We had to wait for it from the man at the counter.Reviewed 4 Nov. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Another great experience at Avis-OR TamboPros:Prompt, efficient pick-up and drop-off, kind service, well-maintained, clean vehicle.Cons:It was hard to find the fuel station at OR Tambo Airport to refuel, and since I was running against the clock, I couldn't. But the Avis staff assured me that they'd handle it.Reviewed 4 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Cons:After we told them no insurance they put it on the paper work then when we pointed it out he had to start the paperwork over again. Originally issued a car with no gas and smelled like cigarettes badly. Had to unpack our backs and go all the way back to the rental center. No apology. Just a silent reissue of keys. Drop off was chaotic. No return recipet was issued.Reviewed 3 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience at Avis JNB AirportPros:Fantastic pick up experience.Cons:Everything was fine - no complaints at all.Reviewed 26 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:It was a good car for the category I have selected.Cons:The car had some noise in the wheels during the whole renting days, which I could not identify. I believe that if the car has gone through some check before being delivered, this slight problem could be fixed.Reviewed 2 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Avis was really great - i needed to upgrade and they allowed me to do so without a problem. I'm very happy with the service.Reviewed 27 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Efficient Car RentalPros:The staff were friendly and efficient. Total no-hassle car rental. I'd rent from them again in a heartbeat.Cons:Nothing against Avis, but the Chevy Spark compact option is tiny and drives like it is being powered by three stressed-out sprinting hamsters. Overall though, a very good experience. Just size up on the car if you want any power on the highways.Reviewed 15 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak

Other car rental agencies at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg scored

Avis car rentals near OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg

Johannesburg Intl Airport, Avis car rentals

Address

Johannesburg Intl Airport

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 11 573 5000

Address

3 Brabazon Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 11 387 8230

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg for C$ 17 or less
  • Mini rental cars from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg are around 64% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg

  • On average a rental car from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg costs C$ 24 per day.

  • Mini (Hyundai i10 or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg.

  • Johannesburg Intl Airport is the closest Avis rental location to OR Tambo Airport, Johannesburg. The telephone number for this location is +27 11 573 5000.

  • Yes