Book Avis car rentals in Port Au Prince

Port Au Prince, Haiti
1 Aug — 8 Aug
Port Au Prince, Haiti
Sun 1/8
Noon
Sun 8/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Port Au Prince

Overall Rating4.4 OkayBased on 57 reviews
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.4
Value for money
4.4

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
8
11
10
26
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:I made it too Haiti port -au prince airport when i reserve my car I payed for damage insurance 9 us Dollar it covers = $35000 when i walked in to the Avis office to pick my car up they told me i need more insurance $ 24 per day i refused to buy another insurance since i already have one then they told me i have to give them credit card with 3500 dollar limit as of deposit i told them here is my credit card but you can't take 3500 deposit we went back and fort they pushed me to buy more coverage i dint need it i refused to buy more without either deposit or more Coverage bottom line i did not get the car it was pure hassle i don't recommend at all i'm gonna call my credit card company and dispute the charges.Reviewed 13 Jan. 2018
review fromcheapflights
2.0
Poorest servicePros:When I went to pick up the car first I waited an hour before someone greets me and then to charge 6 times more that I already pay in the US.Cons:There was no service, a small desk with one computer for 10 customers I waited there for 1 hour before i could get to the lady.Reviewed 24 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
MediocrityPros:It was a horrible mistake. First at all they hadn't had the truck I requested and sent me to another company for a small truck for the same price. The truck was dirty , damaged all over and wasn't washed and empty of gas. Over all it was a very bad bad adventureCons:The service was a big zero I consider losing my money and so disrespectful. I took my time to call them 3 days before my trip to assure myself everything will be setting up and the Guy I spoke too guaranty me every thing will be okay. As a result it was a catastrophic for my security. I had to have a car at the end I didn't have a choice I pick the small truck for the same price and they said I must pick they own assurance and the one I had from global alliances wasn't accepted. That was my storyReviewed 1 May 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:I made a reservation online but I went to pick up and the guy tells me that there’s no cars and really didn’t care whether or not he solve my problem told me to come back the next day when he did have a car the car was not clean he just gave it to me as it is I paid for insurance online which the website instructed me too but the guy made me re-pay for insurance again because he said that that was not part of his policy the only thing that was easy was dropping the car off because I think the guy realize how upset I was and did not want me to give him a bad review.Reviewed 2 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing. 3rd world service at its worst form.Cons:Hire professional staff to service clients at the rental agency’AVIS PAP.’Reviewed 9 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
3.2
Worst rental car in the Caribbean.Pros:The only thing wasn't too bad was the priceCons:I waited 5 hrs to get the car from avis & the car run bad making noice while running tires in the car was bad. That was a worst experience.Reviewed 28 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They didn't accept themail insurance I purchased to cover my rental. I had to purchase their insurance.Reviewed 31 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The Terios was cleanedReviewed 15 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Reasonable rates and got just the vehicle I wantedCons:Very very slow pickupReviewed 8 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Port-au-Prince RentalPros:The Terios works well all over Haïti The price was reasonable, least among the rental companiesCons:1. The agent at the airport was very pushy and intimidating about his local insurance 2. We did not get a good car the first time (wrong type, poor tires), we had to return it and get another the following day 3. The price was for limited mileage that was very pricey after the limit was reached 4. They put a $3,000 hold on credit card if don't get their insurance, though it may not be the best 5. It takes forever for them to clear these holds and show real charges on the credit card, at least 2 weeksReviewed 22 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
KAYAK website insurance does not work AllianzPros:small SUV at good priceCons:Allianz charge for insurance that did not go to avisReviewed 14 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:GoodCons:NorthingReviewed 12 Sep. 2018
review fromkayak

Other suppliers in Port Au Prince scored

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Port Au Prince?

Toussaint Louverture Intl Airport, Avis car rentals

Address

Toussaint Louverture Intl Airport

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+509 29 42 7777

Address

20 Rue Mais Gate

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+509 37 45 4545

Good to know

Most popular location

Toussaint Louverture Intl Airport

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

C$ 52/day

Good deal

C$ 48/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Port Au Prince

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Port Au Prince for C$ 48 or less
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Port Au Prince are around 31% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Port Au Prince

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Port Au Prince costs C$ 52 per day.

  • Economy (Jeep Wrangler or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Port Au Prince.

  • Avis has 2 rental locations in Port Au Prince. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes