Book Avis car rentals at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport

Santa Marta, Colombia - Simon Bolivar
31 Jul — 7 Aug
Santa Marta, Colombia - Simon Bolivar
Sat 31/7
Noon
Sat 7/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

"nothing was good about this !"(in 214 reviews)

Cons

"The broke after 2 hours of use."(in 1817 reviews)
"The broke after 2 hours of use."(in 1763 reviews)
"The broke after 2 hours of use."(in 1799 reviews)

Reviews

Overall Rating3.9 MediocreBased on 9 reviews
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.9
Overall
3.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
3.9
Value for money
3.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
1
1
2
5
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:The car was a wreck with big scratches all over and it was lacking features which are now common on most cars even the cheapest. We thought about returning it several times but since it still took us from point A to point B, we preferred spending our time discovering the country instead. However, the drop-off was a nightmare. The employee at Santa Marta came up with new (tiny) scratches in the most random places and made us call the Cartagena office to explain it wasn't our fault. They said they will review all pictures of the car to determine whether it was caused by us with no apologies for the inconvenience. This whole thing took close to an hour, making us rush for our plane. We had substantially better service with Localiza for our rental between Bogota and Medellin, even though they are not international players. Avoid Avis.Reviewed 2 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:The car broke after 2 hours of use. Left indicator didnt work, drivers dook didnt look. We rang up and the team was unhelpful - we had to make an arranged time to change the car, miles from where we were! A nightmare, basically. Never using Avis again. + Service at collection was slow, rude, rubbishCons:EverythingReviewed 18 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:There is no AVIS station at the Santa Marta Airport. I had to drive to the city to pick up my car. No explanation, no word of excuse. The dropoff was set to be the airport. The AVIS employee showed up with 1 hour delay.Reviewed 10 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Stay Away!! Never Use they will Scam you!!!Pros:Nothing at all! nothing was good about this experience!Cons:Everything. The lady that works there Lina Cruz was disgustingly rude! i booked a car 1 day before pickup, i rang and gave my confirmation number and they confirmed everything was fine. 1 hour before pickup Lina calls me and advised me that the car is no longer available and if i want another car i need to pay an extra $300 on top of the $100 which i had booked the car for.....just for 2 days........I went in to talk with her Lina Cruz was rude to my face and extremely rude to my partner. she was no help at all, she advised now they no longer have any more cars for me, i asked to talk to her manager and conveniently her manager was not available!!Reviewed 11 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Drop-off NightmareCons:No office or personnel present when I arrived at the specified drop-off location.Reviewed 28 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
"We Try Harder´´ their motto, but this is it NOT true.Pros:How easy it was to arrange for the online rental. We will try to avoid using Avis again. They need to streamline the checkout process.Cons:Twice we rented Avis Cars in International Airports in Colombia. What a mistake Santa Marta & Bogota- very long check out process, especially when compared to our Colombian experience with Localiza Santa Marta - The Nissan March car we were given was substandard to other rental cars that we have had. (After market radio, lots of dings, missing hubcap, made a squeaky noise- we feared it might break down. Santa Marta - At check out we had to defend that it was being returned exactly as we received it. Apparently there were traffic cones missing.- Bogota -1 hr. 45 min. time period between checking in at reservation time at the Avis Counter and actually driving the car from the lot Bogota - tacky paint, and no wet paint signs, at the Avis counter. I got paint on my shirt sleeve. Bogota - Bad check-int instructions were given at Check-out, so it made check out longer and more complicated.Reviewed 21 Jun. 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The employees were amiableCons:the difficulty in getting to rental company from airport. trying to coordinate the drop-off with no airport Avis office there being up charged for the rentalReviewed 28 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:There is no Avis rental counter at the Santa Marta airport, and the communication from Avis did not tell us how to get in touch with anyone to find the car. Nor did the Avis confirmation have a local phone number to call.Once we figured that all out the Avis representative was extremely helpful and the drop off was seamlessReviewed 9 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
GET MORE INFORMATION KAYAK!!!Cons:I was able to get a reservation for a car that was listed at the SMR or Santa Marta Airport in Colombia. I took a cab to pick it up with my Colombian friend only to find the agency was BACk by our hotel. Upon arriving 32 minutes late for the 9 AM reservation I found them closing up the AVIS shop! Upon entering I found that I had to return the car BEFORE my requested return of 5 PM and was to have it back at 1 PM! ALL of this was NOT on the reservation and no mention of the early closure of the shop. This wrecked the day with my lady friend. In addition I got charged the $ 9 for the Alliance insurance. GET IT TOGETHER! WOW Rick ((((((Reviewed 24 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport

Km 18 Via Cienaga, Avis car rentals

Address

Km 18 Via Cienaga

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+57 1 6291722

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport for C$ 39 or less
  • Compact rental cars from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport are around 34% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport

  • On average a rental car from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport costs C$ 48 per day.

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis at Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport.

  • Km 18 Via Cienaga is the closest Avis rental location to Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Airport. The telephone number for this location is +57 1 6291722.

  • Yes