Book Avis car rentals in Milwaukee

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 30/4
Tue 7/5
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 48%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Milwaukee

EconomyC$ 78/day
IntermediateC$ 89/day
StandardC$ 87/day
Full-sizeC$ 94/day
MinivanC$ 124/day
PremiumC$ 109/day
LuxuryC$ 117/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Milwaukee

Overall Rating6.7 OkayBased on 31 reviews
Cleanliness
6.7
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
7.0
Value for money
6.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
7
0
0
2
0
0
8
4.0
The vehicle was dirty inside and outside. I took pictures of everything. Car smelled like smoke and I told the lot attendant when I first got the vehicle. Also a bunch of scratches on the truck, passenger side running board was falling apart. But the worst thing was the smoke smell and I tried calling them but no response. Sent me to a call center.Reviewed 2 Apr. 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:I reserved by vehicle for 12pm noon and arrived at 12:05pm to find the location closed. Kayak didn't give me any notification that I would have to arrive earlier than noon if I expected to get a car. It caused a huge logistical headache for my trip and I won't be booking cars through Kayak again.Reviewed 13 May 2021
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Staff was friendly and picking up and dropping off the car was quick!Cons:Nothing reallyReviewed 17 Dec. 2019
review fromkayak
6.8
Pros:Drop off was quick.Cons:Quicker pick up. Provide a way for renter to pre-record info so pick up goes much faster.Reviewed 7 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great store with friendly employeesCons:Location is ok but not greatReviewed 22 Sep. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Picked the car quickly with no issues.Reviewed 1 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Business Ethics QuestionablePros:Long line upon arrival. Discovered due to "upgrade" of the vehicle so the sales agent could pitch various features for extra charges. I will not use Avis again.Reviewed 11 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Was it easy to find and pull in.Pros:The whole area they got me right in and got my receipt out quicklyCons:Trying to find where the desk was and how to get back out of the rampReviewed 8 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
PickupCons:The line at avis was extremely long and initially only one person was working the desk for both Avis and Budget, waited about 30 min to get carReviewed 22 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:I didn't like ANYTHHING about my experience.Cons:First off when I got there no one was at the AVIS car rental counter. It was me and another person standing there, the the lady behind the counter says "there is only one line".. What the hell in another rental agency line.. Mind you there are like 15+ other people standing in line. ONLY 2 people behind the counter who were just rude and not friendly at all.. I had to leave and never got my rental. If I'm spending my hard earn money for negativite expierence your out of your mind..Reviewed 4 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
9.2
Pros:Gas mileage was great on that new impala.Cons:Even though it was a newer car with about 12K miles, I could tell there was a slight smoke smell covered up with air freshener. It wasn't terrible by any means, I've smelled much worse. Great vehicle overall, great experience driving to Green Bay.Reviewed 6 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
one way rentalPros:Very clean, well kept vehicleCons:The service at the rental counter in Milwaukee was horrible. I was in line for 1:15 waiting to check outReviewed 20 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Milwaukee?

Address

5300 South Howell Avenue

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:59
Tuesday07:00 - 23:59
Wednesday07:00 - 23:59
Thursday07:00 - 23:59
Friday07:00 - 23:59
Saturday07:00 - 23:59
Sunday07:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 414 482 8345

Address

603 North 4th Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 414 276 4122

Good to know

Most popular location

5300 South Howell Avenue

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Milwaukee

  • Milwaukee, Wisconsin, is known for its varied climate, which spans from frigid winters to warm summers. It’s important to note the time of year in which you plan to visit when booking your Avis car rental in Milwaukee. During the winter months, which can be particularly harsh, a vehicle with all-wheel or four-wheel drive is preferable for navigating through snow-covered streets and icy conditions. Additionally, a vehicle with advanced heating systems and quality snow tires could further enhance your safety and comfort. In contrast, during the warmer months, a vehicle with good fuel economy would be the priority, especially for those planning to explore the city and its scenic surroundings.
  • Milwaukee, Wisconsin, is a bustling city that, like others of its size and population, can be expected to experience periods of heavy traffic. During weekday mornings and evenings, especially around major commuting hours, you can expect congestion on highways like I-94, I-43, and I-894, as well as on major thoroughfares like W. Wisconsin Ave. and E. Wisconsin Ave. Downtown regions and popular attractions like the Milwaukee Art Museum or the Historic Third Ward can also become congested during peak hours and on weekends. It is a good idea to plan your itinerary around rush hour. However, traffic is sometimes unpredictable and unavoidable, so choosing a rental vehicle of the smallest size to meet your needs will ensure that you have decent maneuverability.
  • A compact Avid car rental in Milwaukee is the way to go when it comes to parking in the city. In the downtown and heavily populated areas, parking is often competitive and sometimes rather limited. Street parking is available, but it may require diligent searching and often involves short-term, metered parking. There are parking garages and lots scattered throughout the city center, such as the MAC Structure, that provide additional options, though it's important to note that they may be close-quartered and difficult to navigate in larger vehicles.
  • Visitors to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, looking to secure a rental vehicle through Avis will be pleased to learn that the agency offers a comprehensive range of roadside assistance services to ensure safe and convenient driving experiences for their customers. These include, but are not limited to, replacing flat tires, charging dead batteries, handling lockouts, and providing fuel for those times you don't quite make it to the gas station. If the vehicle experiences a mechanical failure, Avis provides towing services to the nearest repair facility and will offer a replacement vehicle.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in Milwaukee at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Milwaukee are around 21% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Milwaukee

  • Where is the best location to pick up my vehicle when I book Avis car rentals in Milwaukee?

    The Avis counter at the Milwaukee Mitchell International Airport (MKE) offers convenient on-site rental services to those planning to fly into the area. This ensures that you can move seamlessly from the plane to the road the moment you arrive.

  • What are the age and documentation requirements to book Avis car rentals in Milwaukee?

    The state of Wisconsin requires that rental drivers be at least 21 years of age or older, though certain agencies will increase this minimum to 25 years or require an additional young driver’s fee for those between the ages of 21 and 24. A valid driver’s license, standard auto insurance, and a credit card on file are also required.

  • Are pet-friendly rental vehicles available if I choose to book Avis car rentals in Milwaukee?

    Yes, Avis allows pets to accompany drivers in all of their rental vehicles, so long as the vehicle is returned in the same clean condition as when it was first rented out. Ensuring that your vehicle has no pet hair or odors present will allow you to avoid a $450 cleaning fee.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Milwaukee?

    Intermediate (Toyota Corolla or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Milwaukee.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Milwaukee?

    Avis has 2 rental locations in Milwaukee. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Milwaukee-Mitchell airport (MKE)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Milwaukee-Mitchell airport (MKE)?

    Yes