Book Avis car rentals in Santiago

Santiago, Chile
1 Oct — 8 Oct
Santiago, Chile
Fri 1/10
Noon
Fri 8/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Santiago

Overall Rating4.6 OkayBased on 17 reviews
Cleanliness
5.4
Comfort
4.9
Overall
4.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
3.8
Value for money
4.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
0
0
1
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
Turmoil in the middle of rentalPros:I'm not sure how much it cost me in telephone roaming charges. I have to see on my phone bill when it arrives, But I was called twice during the rental to first, provide my credit card a second time and second, on the fourth day of the rental, I was asked to trade out that vehicle for another one. This isn't easy in the US and in Chile, when I don't have telephone connections and the language, it makes it very complicated. I still am mystified why my vacation stopped and had to focus on Avis emergencies.Reviewed 19 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:You charged me a $4,000 deposit and my plane tickets were thus denied. And i was left stranded in south america and forced to by new plane tickets at the airport. It was awful!Reviewed 29 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
9.2
ChilePros:Everything except the SatnavCons:The Garmin Satnav. Didn't recognise some of the towns in Chile. Google maps was betterReviewed 26 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Cons:I have picked up the car at Santiago Aeroporto (SCL). According to the recommendation of Kajak, the insurance was booked with Allianz. For unclear reasons, the insurance was not accepted by Avis and demanded $ 4,500 deposit on the credit card. The car itself was pretty damaged, alternative was not given. Obviously the SUV has survived an accident. Overall, Avis tried and has fulfilled the usual rip-off on rental car stations. Last but not least: Any reaction to my complaints have not reached my email account.Reviewed 21 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pretty good would rent againPros:Truck fit our group of 4 and all our ski gear In the back that was good. We felt safe in it driving over the mountains. In the end they said I was charges same as my contract when I booked so no extra fees and I appreciated that.Cons:Pick up was a little confusing the desk was easy to find but once we got paperwork had to look for the cars and someone to help. Car wasn't ready it needed to be washed and would be another 20 min. We said skip the wash it still took about 10 min. Returning same thing we weren't sure where to leave the car no one came up to us for awhile but when someone finally did they were very helpful and actually took us to refuel the car so we wouldn't be charged for not doing it before hand.Reviewed 20 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:When we arrived the car was not available.Cons:The whole process sucked. NO car available despite a conformation.Reviewed 8 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Cons:The employ gave my a bill overestimated of 100$ and corrected on the invoice by hand writing after I noticed it. After al,l he apologized for his mistakes, what is even more lame. He definitely intended to rip me off.Reviewed 3 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Avis Employees Step Up to the PlatePros:For some reason, the Avis computer insisted that we owed much more money than our reservation stated, and employees at both the pick-up and drop-off struggled to bring it into conformity with the reservation, spending well over an hour to do so. Finally, one of the managers found a workaround. We still paid slightly more than the reservation promised and it was frustrating to wait around, but the patient service of the Avis staff was remarkable and turned it into a satisfactory experience. Note that this required some calm prodding by me. The SUV we rented proved to be an excellent vehicle.Cons:Avis tried to charge much more than our emailed reservation stated. The inside of the vehicle's windshield had apparently been smeared with a dirty rag--easily fixed.Reviewed 26 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Not the correct pricePros:The car we got in the end was clean and drove just fine, and they gave us a little discount due to other car not available.Cons:We did not get the car we ordered (would have to wait 2, 3 hours), so we took a car from the economy class, which was priced more expensive then the car we ordered (small SUV, automatic). And after checking the price of the car we ordered, the price was dubbel the Kayak price.Reviewed 8 May 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Let me inform you that my contract with Avis rental in Santiago has been cancelled by an officer at Avis desk at the airport. My reservation was canceled by a staff in that office without any refund when I came to pick up the car. This caused me a lot of problems with my plans here in Chile.Reviewed 21 Nov. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Great PeoplePros:The guy that helps us with the rental was very helpful and patient.Reviewed 12 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Did not rent the car in the endCons:The pickup time was wrong and when I tried to update the time, the price went upReviewed 27 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Santiago?

Arturo Merino Benitez Apo, Avis car rentals

Address

Arturo Merino Benitez Apo

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:30
Tuesday07:00 - 19:30
Wednesday07:00 - 19:30
Thursday07:00 - 19:30
Friday07:00 - 19:30

Phone

+56 2 2795 3971

Address

Calle Luz 2934

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+56 2 2795 3916

Address

Arturo Merino Benitez Apo

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:30
Tuesday07:00 - 19:30
Wednesday07:00 - 19:30
Thursday07:00 - 19:30
Friday07:00 - 19:30

Address

Manquehue 160 Local 5

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+56 2 2795 3900

Good to know

Most popular location

Calle Luz 2934

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

C$ 56/day

Good deal

C$ 43/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Santiago

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Santiago for C$ 43 or less
  • Economy rental cars from Avis in Santiago are around 20% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Santiago

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Santiago costs C$ 56 per day.

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Santiago.

  • Avis has 4 rental locations in Santiago. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes