Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in Jersey City

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 25/7
Thu 1/8
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 44%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Jersey City

Economy car
Economy
Compact car
Compact
Intermediate car
Intermediate
Standard car
Standard
Full-size car
Full-size
Luxury car
Luxury
Minivan car
Minivan
Passenger Van car
Passenger Van
Commercial car
Commercial
Pick-up truck car
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in Jersey City

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating6.8 OkayBased on 40 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.1
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
0
2
1
0
0
0
5
2.0
Avoid this place! Basically a criminal gang stealing money from your credit card. Bunch of bullies and liars. And it's not a one off mistake, they doing it deliberately. Just check the reviews, I wish I have done it before I went there.For a $34 car rental, they took $980 from my card. In Europe, Avis is a respected company but in the USA its nothing but organised crime.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great car.Cons:Pick-up location was disorganized. Drop-off closed 1hr sooner than listed online. Incorrectly charged several additional fees.Reviewed 1 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing absolutely nothing, i got the car for one day and they charged me for three days. still trying to resolve the issue with the bank. my charge was supposed to be 123USD instead i got charged 402USDCons:EVerything!!!!!Reviewed 13 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Evening goes smoothly. Good staffs.Cons:Nothing much to saying.Reviewed 10 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was super friendly and the car I received was great.Cons:They should allow drop off outside the business hours.Reviewed 10 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:No car was available! Over 20 people in the same position... the online inventory was incorrectCons:A car would have been niceReviewed 29 Sep. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Nothing really.Cons:Pickup and drop off sucked. There was only one agent at the counter. There were like 10-12 people in the line. I had to wait for almost 2 and half hours to pickup the vehicle. The agent was a little slow. Avis could put one more person at the counter. Even the car drop off took over 30 mins. To drop off the vehicle I was in line for over 30 mins.i think Avis could afford to out one more agent to work at the counter.Reviewed 23 Sep. 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The pickup and drop off process was rather disorganized.Reviewed 15 Sep. 2020
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:The staff was awful. They did not give me any instructions when I picked up the car or inform me I needed to bring the parking ticket when dropping off the car or that I needed to record the mileage. They also told me there would be an ezpass and there was no ezpass in the car. Then it took one entire hour waiting in line at the Avis desk to return the car.Cons:Everything could have been better. This is the worst rental experience I have ever had.Reviewed 2 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Convenient location.Cons:Car interior did not look like it had been cleaned.Reviewed 21 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff who brought the car to me was really nice, the female at the counter a little ornery but with my kindness she warmed up. Rental experience overall was excellent. Ford Escape extremely comfortable. Process quick.Reviewed 17 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Kendall and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. I was on the road in no time and my car was clean and ran perfectly!Reviewed 1 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Jersey City?

Address

30 Mall Drive West

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday07:30 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 201 217 8209

Address

129 Montgomery St

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 201 427 7232

Good to know

Most popular location

129 Montgomery St

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Jersey City

  • One reason that so many people book Avis car rentals in Jersey City is because Avis offers so many different types of cars to rent. A full-size car offers more room for passengers and luggage. It's a suitable choice for families or groups who want additional comfort and space for longer journeys. If you want a more upscale and comfortable driving experience, you can consider renting a luxury or premium car. These vehicles come with additional features and amenities.
  • The Avis Preferred loyalty program extends a range of advantages and privileges to individuals who book Avis car rentals in Jersey City. These include expedited service at a dedicated counter, reducing wait times, and providing priority assistance, which is particularly beneficial during peak travel seasons. Avis Preferred members accrue points with each qualifying rental, which can subsequently be redeemed for complimentary rental days. Your points accumulate as you continue to rent with Avis.
  • For those who want to book Avis car rentals in Jersey City, it's essential to be well-acquainted with their cancellation policy. In the event of a cancellation, a refund will be processed within approximately seven business days and credited back to the same card used for the prepayment. Do note that a processing fee is applicable should you decide to cancel a prepaid reservation before the scheduled rental date. In cases of early vehicle return, unused portions of the payment are non-refundable.
  • When contemplating the choice to book Avis car rentals in Jersey City, it's worth noting that Avis offers a variety of supplementary options for your rental needs. Avis provides GPS navigation devices to facilitate navigation in unfamiliar areas. Child car seats suitable for different age groups are available to ensure the safety and comfort of your young passengers. Additionally, Avis typically offers several fuel service choices, including prepaying for a full tank or opting to return the car without refueling.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Jersey City are around 3% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Jersey City

  • Where can I go to book my Avis car rental in Jersey City?

    There are a couple of great options that are right in the center of the city that are perfect when you want to pick up an Avis car rental in Jersey City. The first location sits right in the downtown area at 129 Montgomery St. A little bit further to the north, you will find another location at 30 Mall Drive West. Of course, if you are arriving by plane at Newark International Airport (EWR), your best option will be to use the Avis location at the airport.

  • What are some of the benefits of using Avis car rentals in Jersey City?

    Avis in Jersey City offers rental periods to fit your schedule, whether you need a car for a day, a week, or longer, including one-way rentals. Avis often provides competitive pricing and promotions in this market, making it a cost-effective choice for your Jersey City car rental needs. Avis is known for maintaining a fleet of well-maintained and reliable vehicles, ensuring a comfortable and safe ride during your trip. Avis offers 24/7 roadside assistance to help you in case of emergencies or breakdowns during your rental period.

  • Where should I go to park my car in Jersey City?

    Jersey City has on-street parking available throughout the city. Parking regulations and rates can vary depending on the specific area. Some areas offer free parking, while others have parking meters with hourly rates, which typically range from $1 to $3 per hour. Jersey City has numerous parking garages and lots, particularly in the downtown area. Parking rates can vary by location, with hourly rates ranging from $5 to $15 or more. Daily rates may range from $15 to $40 or more. Some garages offer discounts for extended parking periods.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Jersey City?

    Compact (Nissan Versa or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Jersey City.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Jersey City?

    Avis has 2 rental locations in Jersey City. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Newark airport (EWR)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    No (According to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from LaGuardia airport (LGA)?

    Yes