Book Avis car rentals in Memphis

Memphis, TN, United States
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Memphis, TN, United States
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Memphis

Overall Rating6.5 GoodBased on 44 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Comfort
6.8
Overall
6.0
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
7
2
2
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Reservations only honored "if there are cars available"Pros:About the only thing I liked was that I was able to get a car. Four wheels and a seat.Cons:I cannot help feel that Avis took advantage of my family when we were in a vulnerable position. We needed to get to Little Rock as soon as we could to maximize time with my wife's grandfather, who has a terminal illness. In light of a mechanical issue that caused us to miss a connecting flight to Little Rock, it appeared that the best solution was to re-book our travel through Memphis, and rent a car to complete the next hundred or so miles of the journey. We were pleased to find that Avis allowed us to reserve a Toyota Corolla, or equivalent car, at a favorable rate. I did so, as we boarded our flight to Memphis. But when we arrived, and asked that Avis honor the reservation, I was informed that no cars were available other than a luxury car that would cost another $50+ per day. When I asked, l was told that a reservation is only good if there are cars available. This is of course inconsistent with every definition of reservation I have heard in my 36 years. I checked one of the other rental counters to see if they had options, and ultimately decided that I needed to quit wasting time and take the luxury option at Avis. We had a limited number of hours to spend with my wife's grandfather, and we had no choice. Upon returning to the counter, thinking I had misheard earlier, I asked another member of staff why the reservation was not honored, and was told again that the reservation is only good if there are cars available. Fortunately, I was then told that a Nissan Altima or Maxima had become available for not too much more than the Corolla I had reserved. I gladly took the Nissan and was happy not to pay the luxury sticker price. But I cannot help feel that I was forced to be upsold. Moreover, the car we ultimately received was musty with stale cigarette smoke, and had tires that, while perhaps not illegal to drive on, should have been replaced for winter driving. This has left me with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. Tell your friends, stay away from Avis unless you like making reservations for the joy of it, and not the benefits that reserving ordinarily conveys.Reviewed 13 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very fast service and was give a couple of different optionsCons:NothingReviewed 30 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Ease of accessCons:Upon drop off there was no one around to explain what to do. Just made assumption we were to leave keys in car.Reviewed 4 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
KAYAK and AVIS drop the ball.Cons:We reserved a mini van around 10 days prior to pickup. We received a phone call the day before asking if we had to have a mini van, if we would want a Ford Explorer instead. I said "no", we needed a minivan. We arrived at 8:30 the next morning, to start our family vacation by renting the minivan, and there was no minivan. The Avis employee said that there had been a glitch on KAYAK and on AVIS website that quoted a lower price on the minivans, therefore causing them all to be rented. There was no minivan there, even though they called me the night before asking me if I wanted something different, and I told them no. They again asked if I wanted an Explorer, and I told them "no" again. They didn't even have an Explorer on site to rent. After waiting for 20 minutes, nothing happened. No minivan, no Explorer, nothing. I called ENTERPRISE and reserved an minivan over the phone, which was DOUBLE the rate that KAYAK/AVIS quoted me, but it was available immediately. I still have received no explanation from KAYAK or AVIS. Probably wont use either of these companies again.Reviewed 18 Oct. 2015
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:ABSOLUTELY NOTHINGCons:Staff was rude and disrespectful... Car was reserved and when I proceeded upstairs to retrieve someone was loading their luggage in it. Charges were added to the change in reservation that were not added downstairs on the original.Reviewed 16 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
2.4
Scam artistsPros:On pickup they tried charging me three different rates until I insisted on the rate I reserved. Then, my car smelled horribly like smoke. So I exchanged it for a different one. Apparently they never logged it out correctly bc they called me the next day and asked me for the info on the keys and asked which car I had. When I tried to attach my wizard number they told me I could but it would be a lot more expensive. So much for being a preffered member! After bringing my car back I was in a hurry and grabbed my receipt and ran. Later looking at the receipt they gave me somebody else’s receipt. Overall, employees who are out to scam you and who just don’t care at all. I would and will try someplace else in the future.Reviewed 29 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was super friendly!!Cons:More car options. The airport location was sold out due to spring break, so we had to Uber 30min away to rent a car.Reviewed 31 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:It was a very easy car rental. As soon as I walked up to the Avis rental agent she asked for my last name, took my I'd and credit card and I signed the agreement via the terminal and I was able to quickly leave. The car was very clean and very comfortable. It drove very well. Plus it was a nice looking car. Also the agent was very friendly.Cons:They switched the type of car I had agreed to when I made the reservation. At first it was a Galant but they changed it to an eclipse although I liked the eclipse better. It was a small SUV. Since I had a one way they said the Galant wasnt available for a one way rental. I was surprised they held an extra $150.00 on my credit card in addition to the rental price until I brought the car back on time which I did. I don't remember seeing the hold fee at the time the reservation was made. After I returned the car I remember hearing the agent say it would take several days for the hold fee to drop off. The vehicle had these very dark smudges around the back. It was dimly lit in the garage where I took possession of the car. So when I drove out I stopped and took a video of the car and photos. I did this to make sure I was protected and that they would not claim that I had committed any damage that was on the car before I took possession. It appeared that at some point someone had black duck tape around the back because I could see where large pieces of tape had been peeled off but this thick sticky residue remained. It didnt bother me because the car still drove fine but I sent a photo to Avis Facebook messenger with my confirmation number to let them see it. Regular washing would not take that off. Maybe a special type of chemical could remove it. The car had been washed but the tape residue was still there and very noticeable. Last, I picked up the car at the Memphis International Airport. I should have been informed that I go the 1st floor, instead of the 2nd floor, to process the rental because the 2nd floor is only for people with an Avis Preferred account. After the paperwork is processed on the 1st floor, I then had to go to the 3rd floor where the vehicles were kept to get the car.Reviewed 13 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The problem was with Kayak not Avis. I made my flight reservations from Newark to Memphis using Kayak for an American Airlines flight. I then made a reservation to rent a car right after I made the airline reservation. Kayak found a deal for $70 was great. When I got to the airline rental counter in Memphis airport I was informed that my reservation was at an Avis 10 miles away but my return destination was the memphis airport. If I wanted a car at the airport it would be $360 for two days. I advised them I booked through Kayak and they said this happened all the time but they could not change the price. I did not accept the car or sign a contract yet Avis now has a pending charge on my credit card for $360. I have filed a complaint with Avis and they said it should clear in 24-48 hours, well it hasn't. I blame this on Kayak and I have serious reservations about using your service again.Reviewed 15 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Drop offCons:The car that I picked up in Memphis was filthy. It smelled and clearly hasn’t been cleaned, never mind sanitized and during a pandemic. I only noticed the extent of the dirty condition after my departure from the airport.Reviewed 26 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:It was ok but they ran out of cars down town avis but i was compensated for atruck but every they were nice at the counter great hospitality kept at same price so things were goodReviewed 22 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Wasn’t able to rent the car because Kayak had mishandled the reservation. No answer when I tried to call them to straighten it out. We were stranded without a vehicle at the Avis Rental location. Worst rental experience I’ve ever had.Reviewed 15 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Memphis?

2491 Winchester Rd, Avis car rentals

Address

2491 Winchester Rd

Hours

Monday07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday07:00 - 23:00
Thursday07:00 - 23:00
Friday07:00 - 23:00
Saturday07:00 - 23:00
Sunday07:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 901 345 2847

Address

224 Madison

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 527 1138

Address

2760 Germantown Parkway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 937 1443

Address

1264 E Shelby Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 901 398 1167

Address

939 Ridge Lake Blvd

Hours

Monday08:00 - 18:00
Tuesday08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday08:00 - 18:00
Thursday08:00 - 18:00
Friday08:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 901 761 5145

Good to know

Most popular location

2491 Winchester Rd

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

C$ 132/day

Good deal

C$ 122/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Memphis

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Memphis for C$ 122 or less
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Memphis are around 26% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Memphis

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Memphis costs C$ 132 per day.

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Memphis.

  • Avis has 5 rental locations in Memphis. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes