Book Avis car rentals in St. John's

St. John's, Antigua And Barbuda
1 Oct — 8 Oct
St. John's, Antigua And Barbuda
Fri 1/10
Noon
Fri 8/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in St. John's

Overall Rating4.6 OkayBased on 15 reviews
Cleanliness
5.2
Comfort
4.9
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.5
Value for money
4.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
0
1
0
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
OK at best!Pros:Pick up and drop off was close to arrivals.Cons:No representative at desk when we arrived, despite it being in the afternoon and our flight details being supplied. Avis rep had to be called by another rep. Car was tatty, rattly, bits were loose, dashboard was falling apart... not what I would expect from Avis... especially for the price! Office was not in terminal as advertised, but outside old terminal, which was close by.Reviewed 20 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing satisfactory- best part was the return, when we breathed a sign of relief that they car made it.Cons:The car was ancient and should not be allowed on the road. The engine sounded like a lawn mower that didn’t want to switch gears and certainly not go up hills. Overall the car was very old- dented & rusted exterior, musty cloth seats, disintegrated rubber on the steering wheel, no automatic locks (only with key), oil gauge light was on upon pick up. Never seen a rental car in this condition, and certainly would have never expected this from Avis.Reviewed 24 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Pickup was slow. Only one person ahead of us. Car was comfortable with adequate leg room, even though it was a compact. Car seemed to be held together with string and glue. No hub caps. Slow leak in one tire. Evidence of previous crashes apparent.Reviewed 20 Jan. 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Reliable car. Indifferent Service.Pros:The car ran well. Good AC. Brakes were squeaky. No hubcaps. Seats were dirty. Pick up was fine (but not friendly) and relatively quick.Cons:Frustrating return process. When I arrrived no one was at the counter. The saleswoman didn't return for another twenty minutes. when she did, there was no apology for making me wait. I filled the gas in the car to the amount needed. When she checked it the needle sat just below the line and she said I'd have to pay an additional US $10 because it wasn't EXACTLY at the line. I asked her why she couldn't waive it especially considering she let a customer wait around for twenty minutes. She rolled her eyes at me and said If I didn't she said it would come from her paycheck. I was already late to check in for my flight so I paid it and ran to the airport. It felt like a shakedown. She was indifferent, unfriendly, and bored in her interactions with me. Horrible customer service. I will never rent from AvIs in Antigua again.Reviewed 4 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Didn't get the car I bookedPros:The convenience of picking up the car at the airport was great.Cons:Booked a premium 7 seater SUV and received a regular 5 seater. I was told that they don't offer any premium SUVs and was asked to pay more for a 7 seat minivan.Reviewed 13 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:The woman who checked us in and out was very friendly.Cons:When we arrived, we were given a beat-up bus. We were told that our 4x4 that we reserved would be delivered to the guesthouse by 7pm that evening. However, it wasn't delivered until 7am the following morning.Reviewed 17 Jan. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Price I was charged almost $300 in an emergency situation for the bottom line car for two days!Reviewed 27 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:Better car quality, the car I have rented is too old and dirty, with lots of dents and flat tires.Reviewed 1 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:That it was right at airportCons:We were at Avis counter for 1 1/2 hrs trying to just get our car And I had a reservation This is unacceptableReviewed 27 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pleasant but very slow...Pros:Representative was pleasantCons:When I arrived to pick up the car, it took about 20 minutes for the car to be brought around to pickup. For drop off, the attendant was not in the office and had to be called. I was waiting for a while, and needed to go check in for a flight. It was a bit nerve-wracking!Reviewed 4 Apr. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:It suckedReviewed 30 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Just okPros:I reserved a car online when i got there i had to wait about 20 mins or more as the agent was on lunch break. She was apologetic however the professionalism in the room was next to nothing. We were forced to pay extra as we were told the car we reserved was of no good when we got the car it was one of the sane we reserved. The car was very dirty the condition wasn't so bad.Cons:The professionalism of the agents in the roomReviewed 12 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in St. John's?

V.C. Bird Intl Apo, Avis car rentals

Address

V.C. Bird Intl Apo

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 268 462 2840

Good to know

Most popular location

V.C. Bird Intl Apo

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 53/day

Good deal

C$ 49/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in St. John's

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in St. John's for C$ 49 or less

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in St. John's

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in St. John's costs C$ 53 per day.

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in St. John's.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in St. John's. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes