Book Avis car rentals in Albany

Albany, NY, United States
1 Oct — 8 Oct
Albany, NY, United States
Fri 1/10
Noon
Fri 8/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Albany

Overall Rating6.6 GoodBased on 32 reviews
Cleanliness
6.5
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.3
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
6
5
3
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:They did not honor the price that I reserved it for. I had to pay moreReviewed 1 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.4
Pros:Staff at counter was friendlyCons:--Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone. Drove 3 1/2 hours each way (NYC --> Albany) to drop off old rental and pick up a new one, then was told at counter that I needn't have made the drive in the first place and I could've just kept the original rental. --Car smelled of cigarettes. Was told to just write down the issue on my rental agreement. --Staff at counter was unable to be reached by phone a second time (and I called over 20 times). This became an issue when I had to extend my new rental. --Toll-free customer service was completely useless when I contacted them to voice my concerns. --In a word, Avis = terrible. I've been an Enterprise customer for 12 years, and I'm kicking myself for using Avis this time.Reviewed 17 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:PriceCons:No ability to contact local agent, no store front or signage indicating pickup location, only a guy in a car with a sign. My rental was given away to someone else because I was late getting my car because I couldnt find the location, despite calling the national number they assured me everything was OKReviewed 15 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:Staff needs to clean the cars inside and out before renting. I went inside a vehicle and it wreaked of cigarette smoke. It was disgusting. Another vehicle wasn’t clean on the outside.Reviewed 17 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Clean car, quick linesCons:The employee explained the fuel option as one that I would be paying “per gallon” if it was not returned with a full tank. When I specifically asked about the option and that’s how it was explained to me, it was almost a bold faced lie.Reviewed 1 Jul. 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Vehicle was why I expected and performed wellCons:Pick up booth was extremely understaffed. Wait to get the car was over a half an hour with a line of twenty people. One agent was stuck with a client using a translation app or there phone working with one client the whole time backup help was never called. Vehicle had not been cleaned when I got it. Dirty inside and out.Reviewed 10 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:They did not have the truck I reserved. I reserved a pickup truck for moving and they wanted to replace it with a Toyota Corolla and could not understand why I was not satisfied. The manager was rude and extremely unhelpful. I was given the number of Avis customer service, waited on hold for 20 minutes, only to find they were closed. I was not able to rent from them and had no choice but to pay triple the cost to Alamo for a pickup. For this reason, I am requesting a full refundCons:If they had the vehicle I reservedReviewed 11 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:convienientCons:nothing reallyReviewed 7 Jul. 2021
review fromcheapflights
8.0
Pros:Very easy process.Cons:My car hadn’t been washed though the interior was cleaned.Reviewed 7 Jul. 2021
review fromkayak
6.8
Counter personnel refused to serve me.Pros:Great price on the car rental!Cons:Laura at the rental counter simply refused to serve me. I had a reservation number. Didn’t matter—I was refused service. I went over to the budget counter and they were willing to rent me my car (apparently Avis and budget share the same computer system).Reviewed 17 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:There were no cars available when I arrived to the Avis counter. I was unable to rent a car despite having a reservation number. Unacceptable!Reviewed 17 Jul. 2019
review fromkayak
3.6
Rental was at wrong locationCons:I specified the airport, but the app showed options at nearby locations as well without making that apparent. So we get off the plane and...no car. The experience got worse when the Avis attendant erroneously told me my car was at another location a half-mile away. Then after walking there and back for no car, she tried to pass it off as my fault for not knowing where my car was, ultimately at a mall location three miles away. Also, the car was old and smelled strongly like mildew.Reviewed 19 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Albany?

737 Albany Shaker Road, Avis car rentals

Address

737 Albany Shaker Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday08:00 - 23:59
Sunday08:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 518 242 4440

Address

131 Colonie Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:59
Tuesday08:00 - 23:59
Wednesday08:00 - 23:59
Thursday08:00 - 23:59
Friday08:00 - 23:59
Saturday10:00 - 16:00
Sunday10:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 518 459 3179

Good to know

Most popular location

737 Albany Shaker Road

Most popular car type

Full-size

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Albany

  • Full-size rental cars from Avis in Albany are around 12% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Albany

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • Full-size (Chevrolet Tahoe or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Albany.

  • Avis has 2 rental locations in Albany. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes