Book Avis car rentals in Cape Town

Cape Town, South Africa
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Cape Town, South Africa
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Cape Town

C$ 62/dayCompact
C$ 94/dayIntermediate
C$ 53/daySupplier choice

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cape Town

Overall Rating7.1 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.6
Value for money
7.1

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
1
1
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
7.2
Good car, long queue's, GPS didn't workPros:Good clean car for a good price. Drop off was a smooth and quick process.Cons:Queued for almost an hour to collect a pre booked car. I paid extra to rent a sat nav which didn't work and wouldn't pick up a GPS signal.Reviewed 11 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Bad initial experience. The car was supposed to carry 5 people and carry 2 suitcases. It was 1.1 litre inderpowered (hyundai?) and barely suitable. The car battery was dead and car hsd benn previously jump started. Needed replacement vehicle. Lost 2days of holiday as a result but new car excllentCons:Avis Strand office at Somersetwest responded excellently in providing replacement car but CT airport should never have allowed the first substandard car to have been issued.Reviewed 21 Mar. 2019
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Efficient at Durbanville. Drop off simple. No charge for uprade.Cons:No upgrade available at Capetown. Sent to Durbanville where no car was available. Very helpful staff there who arranged an upgrade at airport. Very efficient thereafter.Reviewed 28 Oct. 2015
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Good pick up to take us by golf cart into the office from arrivals. Everything ready, good service,no complaintsReviewed 10 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Cape Town is too focused on very minor scratches--causes worryPros:I rented a minivan/people carrier. It was a low-end model that was small compared to the category rented, but was good value-for-money. I would rather save money than have a "luxury" model minivan with extra bells and whistles. The car fit 7 people (only with no luggage) or 5 people with luggage. Would have been better if the advertisement made that clear, because it said 7 passengers and 4 pieces of luggage, but in truth it's EITHER 5 passengers + 4 pieces of luggage OR 7 passengers and no luggage.Cons:When I picked up the car, Avis asked me to note every scratch on the car. This made me nervous, because I cannot control if someone parks next to me and opens their door into the car making a small scratch. Luckily, during our 12-day rental this did not happen. But when I returned the car, Avis was very, very focused on every little tiny scratch again, and they made me feel like they might charge me for scratches, even if I did not make them. They should allow for normal small scratches without making the customer feel threatened.Reviewed 12 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Staff at avis was really friendly. Car they gave me has less milage on it.Cons:When car was handed over to me was not clean and had no floor mats inside.Reviewed 28 May 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
very poor experience - rude employees, old and dirty carPros:location - close to my hotel in cape townCons:price was different than advertised employees were rude car was old, manual gear (automatic is extra charge), and dirty - and I didn't choose the lowest class of cars..Reviewed 21 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth sailingPros:I liked walking into a busy office with a long line and walking right up to the preferred customer desk. It was an amazing feeling. Checkin was quick and easy, our car ran smoothly on a long road trip. When we returned it we didn't have to even go inside. We were met outside right away. Great experience.Cons:Our car had an awkward luggage cover up that we were constantly battling. A quirk of the Toyota Avanza I suppose.Reviewed 6 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Ease of reservation, cleanliness of car.Cons:I returned the car two days early, expecting a reduction in price. Instead, AFTER they had closed the contract, I was informed that the price would be MORE than what they had initially quoted, despite the fact that the car was returned early, The reason given was that the consultant "called International Sales and because you brought the car back earlier your rate defaulted as your rate was a minimum of 14 days" (per email response to my query). Sigh.Reviewed 31 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Gas mileage; Airport location easy drop-offCons:Wait at car pick-up Dinky car felt like a toy car on the highwayReviewed 26 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
The store was so poorly run, I left without a carPros:The person who was helping me was nice. But his company is dishonest and the computers in the offices didn't work.Reviewed 23 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Service was great. Insurance a little hiReviewed 27 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Cape Town?

Cape Town International Apt, Avis car rentals

Address

Cape Town International Apt

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+27 21 927 8800

Address

46 Strand Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 424 1177

Address

367 Main Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 797 4581

Address

15 Tower Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 927 3001

Good to know

Most popular location

Cape Town International Apt

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

C$ 21/day

Good deal

C$ 18/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Cape Town for C$ 18 or less
  • Book your rental car from Cape Town in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Economy rental cars from Avis in Cape Town are around 24% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Cape Town costs C$ 21 per day.

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Cape Town.

  • Avis has 4 rental locations in Cape Town. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes