Book Avis car rentals in Cape Town

Driver's age: 26-65
Tue 23/4
Tue 30/4
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 48%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Cape Town

EconomyC$ 28/day
CompactC$ 51/day
IntermediateC$ 99/day
MinivanC$ 65/day
Full-size SUVC$ 133/day
MiniC$ 25/day
Passenger VanC$ 75/day
Premium SUVC$ 178/day
Intermediate SUVC$ 89/day
Compact SUVC$ 90/day
Standard SUVC$ 129/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Cape Town

Overall Rating9.2 WonderfulBased on 8 reviews
Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
9.2
Overall
9.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
9.2
Value for money
9.2

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
4
1
0
0
0
0
0
10.0
Its was very good,I like im happy.Reviewed 7 Nov. 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Picking up the vehicle was easy and we were treated well. The staff at the pick up area was helpful and friendly.Cons:Returning the car was not as smooth as the pick up. The staff members tried to make us sign a paper assuming responsibilities for damage to the front left wheel. We refused to sign because the "damage" they claimed the wheel suffered was barely visible. We felt targeted.Reviewed 21 Mar. 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Bad initial experience. The car was supposed to carry 5 people and carry 2 suitcases. It was 1.1 litre inderpowered (hyundai?) and barely suitable. The car battery was dead and car hsd benn previously jump started. Needed replacement vehicle. Lost 2days of holiday as a result but new car excllentCons:Avis Strand office at Somersetwest responded excellently in providing replacement car but CT airport should never have allowed the first substandard car to have been issued.Reviewed 21 Mar. 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Staff at avis was really friendly. Car they gave me has less milage on it.Cons:When car was handed over to me was not clean and had no floor mats inside.Reviewed 28 May 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Everything was great except that I cant figure out how to access my final receipt.Cons:Everything was great except that I cant figure out how to access my final receipt.Reviewed 2 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Smooth sailingPros:I liked walking into a busy office with a long line and walking right up to the preferred customer desk. It was an amazing feeling. Checkin was quick and easy, our car ran smoothly on a long road trip. When we returned it we didn't have to even go inside. We were met outside right away. Great experience.Cons:Our car had an awkward luggage cover up that we were constantly battling. A quirk of the Toyota Avanza I suppose.Reviewed 6 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Excellent rental experiencePros:Professional and helpful staff. Easy pickup and drop off.Cons:NothingReviewed 28 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
very poor experience - rude employees, old and dirty carPros:location - close to my hotel in cape townCons:price was different than advertised employees were rude car was old, manual gear (automatic is extra charge), and dirty - and I didn't choose the lowest class of cars..Reviewed 21 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Car was reasonable and the same as the price quoted when we reserved.. We were allowed to use our credit card insurance and service was quick when picking up even though the office was very crowded that evening..Reviewed 13 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The service was excellentCons:Make it clear that you need to pay a deposit for the carReviewed 11 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Thatis goodPros:It is resonble prce.and kindnessReviewed 14 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:the booking was canceled. I'll avoid kayak from now on unfortunately because of the use of a company like cartrawler.Reviewed 6 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Cape Town?

Address

Cape Town International Apt

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+27 21 927 8800

Address

46 Strand Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 424 1177

Address

434 Koeberg Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 215 526 636

Address

367 Main Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 797 4581

Address

15 Tower Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+27 21 927 3001

Good to know

Most popular location

Cape Town International Apt

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 38/day

Good deal

C$ 25/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Cape Town for C$ 25 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in Cape Town at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Cape Town are around 25% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Cape Town

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in Cape Town?

    On average a rental car from Avis in Cape Town costs C$ 38 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Cape Town?

    Compact (Toyota Urban Cruiser or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Cape Town.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Cape Town?

    Avis has 5 rental locations in Cape Town. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Cape Town Intl airport (CPT)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Cape Town Intl airport (CPT)?

    Yes