Book Avis car rentals in Hoboken

Hoboken, NJ, United States
4 Oct — 11 Oct
Hoboken, NJ, United States
Mon 4/10
Noon
Mon 11/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Hoboken

Overall Rating6.8 GoodBased on 33 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
3
0
0
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.8
Make sure to return it before they close.Pros:I'm used to renting from airports with more flexible return times. I returned my car 15 minutes after closing while several Avis employees still milling around. They wouldn't accept the drop off so I had to pay for another day, and pay to park the car in Hoboken for a night, and then come back the next day to drop it off. I called to see if I could drop it off at Newark, and the car could only be returned to that actual location. I take responsibility for not knowing when the location closes, but a little customer service would have been helpful in this situation so I wouldn't have had to come out of pocket another $100 and the inconvenience of coming back to Hoboken from Manhattan before work the next day to return a car. Nice car, decent rate, but I've always rated Avis customer service below some other providers.Cons:I'm used to renting from airports with more flexible return times. I returned my car 15 minutes after closing while several Avis employees still milling around. They wouldn't accept the drop off so I had to pay for another day, and pay to park the car in Hoboken for a night, and then come back the next day to drop it off. I called to see if I could drop it off at Newark, and the car could only be returned to that actual location. I take responsibility for not knowing when the location closes, but a little customer service would have been helpful in this situation so I wouldn't have had to come out of pocket another $100 and the inconvenience of coming back to Hoboken from Manhattan before work the next day to return a car.Reviewed 1 Dec. 2015
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly staff and easy pick up.Reviewed 13 May 2019
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Fast process, and i get a better carReviewed 8 Sep. 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Terrible customer service and no overnight dropPros:The car was fine and clean, no problems there.Cons:The customer service was awful all around. The staff was unnecessary cheeky and curt during very interaction. We would have returned the car half a day early, but the staff at the Hoboken location gruffly told us that they didn't have an overnight drop. We had to pay to park the car in a different garage overnight and make an extra trip to return it. This return was delayed because I got sick. I tried to call the Hoboken location to inform them of the situation, but they consistently put me on hold and then would hang up on me after ten minutes. This was the absolute worst customer service and car rental experience I have ever had, and I will not be returning.Reviewed 1 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I was not able to rent the car despite having all the necessary requirement. I was told that I couldn't use my debit card to pay for the rental feeReviewed 3 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:Fast, efficient rental. Very friendly and helpful staff. All fees discussed up front so no surprises at drop off. Drop off was fast and easy.Cons:Car itself was hard to drive; very limited visibility in rear and blind spots. This is Ford's fault, not Avis' but does reflect their choice in cars. Rental counter was also incredibly difficult to find, as it was on a completely different street than the address listed. No signs (at the listed address) to direct me to the rental counter. Took 10 mins and a phone call to even locate it.Reviewed 26 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Nice car; easyCons:Car not very cleanReviewed 14 Jun. 2019
review fromkayak
8.8
Great car. Pick up and drop off could have been better.Pros:Reserved a full-size car, and was given a very nice small SUV. Great car. Good customer service.Cons:Reserved the car for a 10 am pick up on memorial day weekend, and was told when we called to see if we could pick it up early that the car would be gone by 10 AM, so yes we needed to pick it up early. We would have been very upset to not have had a car available at our appointed pick up time. Drop off location in Hoboken did not open on time the morning we were dropping it off. A minor inconvenience.Reviewed 30 May 2018
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:The vehicle was perfect for my needs and completed 2000 miles in 10 days faultlessly.Cons:Difficulty in ensuring I received model I had requested.Reviewed 18 Oct. 2015
review fromkayak
2.0
Will never rent from Avis Hoboken again.Pros:Convenience - locationCons:Dirty car Low on fuel Scratches on body When I mentioned the above things - the agent told me that he was doing me a favor to upgrade me. I asked WTH! and then he looked up the reservation to realize he wasn't doing anyone any favor. Anyway, he wasn't helpful and the car was well 'a rental' at best. I had hoped better from an Avis location.Reviewed 2 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Good service, upgraded my car for no cost, didn't charge extra for BS, conveniently locatedCons:Only a 40 minute grace period before they charge you an extra day but it's cheap enough so that it's not a huge deal to do 2 days instead of 1Reviewed 26 Apr. 2016
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Easy pickup in the garageCons:Return lot was full unsure where to drop offReviewed 24 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Hoboken?

1450 Bloomfield Street, Avis car rentals

Address

1450 Bloomfield Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 201 876 2871

Good to know

Most popular location

1450 Bloomfield Street

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Hoboken

  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Hoboken are around 67% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Hoboken

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • Compact (Nissan Versa or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Hoboken.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Hoboken. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes