Book Avis car rentals in Detroit

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 29/2
Thu 7/3
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 38%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Detroit

EconomyC$ 76/day
CompactC$ 78/day
IntermediateC$ 64/day
StandardC$ 86/day
Full-sizeC$ 86/day
MinivanC$ 112/day
Full-size SUVC$ 169/day
PremiumC$ 88/day
Premium SUVC$ 148/day
Standard SUVC$ 96/day
Intermediate SUVC$ 105/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall Rating5.8 FairBased on 37 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.9
Overall
5.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
4
0
0
2
1
0
8
4.0
Still waiting to get deposit back.Reviewed 13 Feb. 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Well, after making me wait in the 10° weather for over half an hour these people refused to rent a car to me because my ID had a piece of tape on it. I literally had to walk over a mile in the snow and got sick because of this. The manager was one of the rudest people I’ve ever dealt with in my life. Stay away from this place and rent from anywhere in the world but this place.Reviewed 27 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
Will never use Avis again!Reviewed 10 Nov. 2023
review fromkayak
6.0
GentReviewed 26 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The staff were friendly but waited in line for an hour to pick up my rental.Reviewed 25 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed 30 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed 25 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed 30 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed 29 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed 8 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:So easy! Everyone was very friendly and fast. That was my best big city airport rental experience ever!Reviewed 24 Sep. 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Disappointed in Avis quality controlPros:The Volvo V60 was an awesome car overall — really comfortable, responsive and got good gas mileage.Cons:Almost everything went wrong with this 3 day rental. I wasn’t on Avis Preferred yet that’s my tier listing. The car class we ordered (intermediate SUV) wasn’t available although the parking lot was PACKED with SUVs — we tried to take several others but “they weren’t in the computer” (in all fairness, our agent, Sara, was really great — it appeared to be a back office and operations staff problem). Since we had waited 45 minutes already, we swapped UP to the Volvo V60 - the car stank of cigarette smoke, it hadn’t been washed (why was it in the system if it hadn’t been cleaned?) and it had big scratches on three sides. We stopped at the exit gate and had the nice guy there fill out a damage report including the smoke. Then the low tire pressure guage went off — we filled up the tires and it still stayed on the whole weekend — stressful! We had guests who told us our car stank of smoke.... When we returned it, there was no one there to do a check in (on a Monday at 5pm) for 15 minutes... THen I had to show him my damage report — he wanted to take it — I told him “no way - this is MY copy and you have your own.” Guess he gave up and just charged me. Probably someone else is getting the car without a cleaning also... Detroit - get your act together!Reviewed 8 May 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Detroit?

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 336/day

Good deal

C$ 138/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • When you choose Avis car rentals in Detroit, you will have a wide and varied selection to choose from in order to get the most out of your visit to this renowned city in Michigan. If you will be commuting a lot, you might want a smaller car, such as an intermediate sedan, to help you negotiate traffic. If you are traveling with a family, a minivan might be preferable. A premium or luxury sedan may be the best choice if you want to arrive to all of your destinations in refined style. For those who will be enjoying some of the many outdoor recreational opportunities of Michigan, you may prefer an SUV.
  • Signing up for the Avis rewards program Avis Preferred is free and replete with benefits you can start taking advantage of right away. As an Avis Preferred member, you can skip the line at the car rental counter and go directly to your vehicle. Also, when you rent Avis car rentals in Detroit, you can start accruing points toward future free rentals. Avis Preferred will make your car rental experience even better with Avis car rentals in Detroit.
  • Avis car rentals in Detroit can supply you with available add-ons in order to facilitate your travel needs. If you will be driving with small children, contact your Avis pick up agency in Detroit and let them know what size child safety seat you require so that they have what you need when you arrive to pick up your vehicle. You can also add on a GPS navigation device or Sirius XM Satellite Radio. Also, if you decide you want more protection for yourself and for your vehicle, you can add on extra insurance coverage at the rental car counter.
  • When you book Avis car rentals in Detroit through KAYAK, you can choose the make and model of rental vehicle you want. On the KAYAK website, first you will choose the car category that you are interested in. Then, from a list of available vehicles, you can choose precisely the one you want. When you arrive at the Avis agency in Detroit, they should have your choice waiting for you. If they don't have exactly what you requested, Avis's staff members will do their best to find a comparable rental car.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Detroit for C$ 138 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in Detroit at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Detroit are around 21% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • Where can I pick up Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    The one Avis location in Detroit is located in the rental car facility at the Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport (DTW). Once you deplane and exit at arrivals, you can catch a courtesy shuttle from either terminal's Ground Transportation Center. The shuttle bus will take you to the car rental building on Lucas Drive on the airport grounds, where you can find the Avis car rental counter.

  • Can I arrange a one-way rental with Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    Yes. When you reserve Avis car rentals in Detroit through KAYAK, one of the first options you can select is a different drop-off location. So, whether you want to drop off your rental car in a different city in Michigan or in a different city elsewhere in the continental United States, Avis car rentals in Detroit can help you out.

  • Can I rent an electric or hybrid vehicle from Avis car rentals in Detroit?

    Since sustainability is an important goal of Avis car rentals in Detroit, they include both fully electric vehicles and hybrid vehicles within their fleets. When you book your reservation through KAYAK, check the boxes for hybrid and electric cars to see what vehicles are available on the dates that you will need to have a rental car. When you choose a hybrid or electric car from Avis car rentals in Detroit, you will be leaving a small carbon footprint in this Michigan city.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in Detroit?

    On average a rental car from Avis in Detroit costs C$ 336 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Detroit?

    Compact (Nissan Rogue or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Detroit.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Detroit?

    Avis has 1 rental location in Detroit. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County airport (DTW)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County airport (DTW)?

    No (According to our data)