Book Avis car rentals in Detroit

Detroit, MI, United States
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Detroit, MI, United States
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Detroit

C$ 102/dayEconomy
C$ 104/dayCompact
C$ 104/dayIntermediate
C$ 122/dayStandard
C$ 105/dayFull-size
C$ 233/dayMinivan
C$ 129/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 126/dayPremium
C$ 130/dayLuxury
C$ 432/dayPremium SUV
C$ 105/dayIntermediate SUV
C$ 120/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall Rating5.9 OkayBased on 24 reviews
Cleanliness
5.8
Comfort
6.5
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
2
0
2
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
5.2
Disappointed in Avis quality controlPros:The Volvo V60 was an awesome car overall — really comfortable, responsive and got good gas mileage.Cons:Almost everything went wrong with this 3 day rental. I wasn’t on Avis Preferred yet that’s my tier listing. The car class we ordered (intermediate SUV) wasn’t available although the parking lot was PACKED with SUVs — we tried to take several others but “they weren’t in the computer” (in all fairness, our agent, Sara, was really great — it appeared to be a back office and operations staff problem). Since we had waited 45 minutes already, we swapped UP to the Volvo V60 - the car stank of cigarette smoke, it hadn’t been washed (why was it in the system if it hadn’t been cleaned?) and it had big scratches on three sides. We stopped at the exit gate and had the nice guy there fill out a damage report including the smoke. Then the low tire pressure guage went off — we filled up the tires and it still stayed on the whole weekend — stressful! We had guests who told us our car stank of smoke.... When we returned it, there was no one there to do a check in (on a Monday at 5pm) for 15 minutes... THen I had to show him my damage report — he wanted to take it — I told him “no way - this is MY copy and you have your own.” Guess he gave up and just charged me. Probably someone else is getting the car without a cleaning also... Detroit - get your act together!Reviewed 8 May 2018
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed 30 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
8.8
EasyPros:Staff at Detroit airport was fantastic. The team went out of their way to get me the right vehicle with features I wanted.Cons:Pickup was my best car pick up experience possibly ever. Great team.Reviewed 1 Apr. 2016
review fromkayak
6.8
Long wait for pickupCons:Cars were in short supply. Waited almost 1/2 hour at the rental counter for a car to be available.Reviewed 27 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed 8 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed 25 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed 30 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:Car was filthy at pickup. Salt on floor mats, sticky gunk in cup holders.Reviewed 21 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
GreatPros:Simple, easy, fastCons:Look up the address of the drop off ahead of time - slightly confusing to find.Reviewed 21 Dec. 2015
review fromkayak
6.0
Cons:waiting for more than an hour to pick up at avisReviewed 7 Aug. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Would not honor quote. Hidden fees double wuotePros:NoyhingCons:Quoted 222 then when we got there price was $375 because not unlimited mileage. Plus had to wait in line 45 minutes to get to counter. Staff were not helpful and had to book another online reservation (counter people unwilling / unable to help) to resolve issue. I even had a confirmation email saying total cost $222. HorribleReviewed 12 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:The size car was the car promisedCons:from the time of check in to actually driving off the lot was over 3 hours. Customer service was very poor and very slow. Even after being assigned a car from the counter it took over 45 minutes of waiting until it was clean. The car was 1/8 low on gas, the car stunk (probably a smoker before us), and the car was dirty. Overall poor experience with DTW Avis. I never had a problem with Avis at other locations and have rented recently. I the future I will try and avoid Avis DTW.Reviewed 23 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Detroit?

Building 295 Lucas Drive, Avis car rentals

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

C$ 101/day

Good deal

C$ 81/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Detroit for C$ 81 or less
  • Book your rental car from Detroit in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Detroit are around 22% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Detroit costs C$ 101 per day.

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Detroit.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Detroit. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • No (According to our data)