Book Avis car rentals in Detroit

Detroit, MI, United States
3 Oct — 10 Oct
Same drop-off
Detroit, MI, United States
Mon 3/10
Noon
Mon 10/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Detroit

EconomyC$ 87/day
CompactC$ 86/day
IntermediateC$ 87/day
StandardC$ 111/day
Full-sizeC$ 93/day
Full-size SUVC$ 202/day
PremiumC$ 118/day
LuxuryC$ 142/day
Intermediate SUVC$ 118/day
Standard SUVC$ 147/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Detroit

Overall Rating6.8 GoodBased on 65 reviews
Cleanliness
7.3
Comfort
7.4
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
8
2
6
9
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
I would have liked to have a newer car. It was a 2021 KIA and it was pretty run down. Rear passenger turn signal didn’t work.Reviewed 29 Aug. 2022
review fromkayak
4.0
In the office three times to get the correct vehicle before someone finally got up from behind the counter to helpReviewed 1 May 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
The customer service representative was extremely unpleasant and combative. From the moment we walked in, there was an attitude of hostility. Simple questions were answered with abrupt and unhelpful responses. I was not expecting for the red carpet to be rolled out for me and I understand that the night shift may come with a bit less of a cheerful attitude but her abrasive attitude was completely unnecessary. What was particularly disheartening was the fact the woman behind us in line was greeted warmly and helped promptly. It was clear the service representative decided she did not like us from the moment we walked up. We nearly cancelled our reservation and left for another rental car company but luckily the manager Zachariah came to the rescue to assist with our reservation when the woman “helping” us decided to disappear while we waited. If this Russian roulette of service representatives is what I can expect from Avis, I don’t plan on using their service in the future.Reviewed 7 Mar. 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
I booked through Kayak and the price was $70, including taxes. When I dropped off, multiple charges I never agreed to were added and the total became $140, including $32.99 for waiving the extra insurance and $16.99 for a fuel surcharge when I didn’t use any of their fuel. So a good price became a bad price.Reviewed 13 Feb. 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
Great experience Excellent customer serviceReviewed 1 Jan. 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
We were overcharged and almost missed our flight because they took so long to correct the error.Reviewed 25 Oct. 2021
review fromkayak
5.9
Staff was incredibly kind and patient but Avis corporate is failing their people. The line was out the door when I arrived from my flight because Avis has not employed enough people to work the desk. This location shares a facility with Avis's other labels (Payless and Budget). The layout for which line reached which label was unclear but the shuttle drivers were able to help direct confused customers. Once it was your turn to work with the staff, they were kind, helpful, and positive (despite being overworked themselves). The car was also not very clean. It was clear that someone had smoked in the car at some point recently (presumably an earlier customer). Hard to stomach paying the daily rate with this company, despite the great in-person staff.Reviewed 16 Aug. 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was easyCons:Waited almost 2 hrs in line to get car.. only one person working behind the desk.. with no sense of urgency to move people along.. the mist unorganized ever experienced!Reviewed 30 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Staff i detroit pickup was not very helpful, the man did not explain anything, and didnt know why I was getting charged 50 dollars over the original quote. I fueled up before returning and the person at the drop of said i did t need to since the gas was included in the deal.. sooooo i spend 40 bucks to fuel something i didnt have to. Going back to enterprise with my crewCons:CommunicationReviewed 25 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Buses were easy to find, rental desk was fast, car was fine.Reviewed 30 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:2 hrs to pick up reserved vehicle Same as flight timeReviewed 29 Apr. 2019
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:NothingCons:The check in process took about 30 minutes. The car smelled like marijuana........it was so bad that my clothes smelled like it when I went to my meetings. I had a couple clients comment about it.......Reviewed 8 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Detroit?

Building 295 Lucas Drive, Avis car rentals

Address

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 734 942 3450

Good to know

Most popular location

Building 295 Lucas Drive

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Detroit

  • Book your rental car from Avis in Detroit at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Detroit