Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in New Haven

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 30/5
Thu 6/6
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 49%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in New Haven

Mini
Economy
Compact
Intermediate
Standard
Full-size
Luxury
Minivan
Passenger Van
SUV
Commercial
Pick-up truck

Reviews for Avis in New Haven

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating6.0 OkayBased on 36 reviews
Cleanliness
6.3
Comfort
6.8
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.9
Value for money
6.3

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
2
4
1
2
0
0
7
4.0
The car I reserved wasn’t available (small car) was given a massive SUV instead. Car was dirty on the outside and had a large scratch on the outside. My pickup time was for 12 pm and I arrived at 4 pm, and was told that they do not hold cars or guarantee the car reserved if you come after your pickup time (I could only select 12 pm on the site when booking).Reviewed 4 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
4.0
Car tires needed air. I had to pump them up. Avoidance warning lights were always on in outside mirrors.Reviewed 21 Dec. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I reserved a rental last week appear to pick it up and it isn't present and avis had "no" cars I was able to rentReviewed 5 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Customer service was lacking. Not friendly or helpful. Car itself was perfectly fine. Clean, economical to use.Reviewed 29 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Avis tried to rip me off twice. They said the gas tank was full and I had to return it that way when I picked it up at 11:00 am Monday—there was less than 1/8 tank and according to the car, I could drive 27 miles before getting gas. When I returned the car, dropping the keys in the box at 6:30 in the morning Tuesday, before the desk opened and less than 24 hours from picking up, they charged me a late return fee and for an additional day—because they didn’t check the car in until Wednesday. Crappy, unprofessional, dishonest, disgusting.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pick up took to long. Didn't have my car. Car they gave me was filthy.Cons:Have the car i reserved. Have more locations for one way travel. Don't rent filthy old cars.Reviewed 24 May 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Very happy that we were upgraded, but the car was not clean inside. Sticky dashboard and steering wheel, crackers and debris in door pockets and cup holders. The car also needed an oil change. My busy had to add 2 1/2 quarts of oil and wiper fluid to car.Reviewed 13 May 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great choice of cars--thank you!Reviewed 30 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The New Haven staff member was not helpful. He did not explain to me additional charges that were added to my bill before he charged me and then was not helpful in helping me sort out a better course of action.Cons:The company could be more transparent about their fee structures online vs in the store. The company could make their workers feel more valued.Reviewed 6 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Smooth transaction. Friendly helpful staff.Cons:Car was not clean when we received it. Windshield had dead bugs on it and interior needed a vacuum and wipe down from some drink spills.Reviewed 24 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Best car rental experience everPros:I chose Avis after I missed getting to New Haven in time to pick up my car from Hertz. Hertz told me I would have to pay $170 more if I picked up the car the next day, plus I would have had to Uber around until then. Avis had a car for almost the same price I had originally been paying with Hertz, their office was right in the train station, and they were open 2 hours later than Hertz! Reserved and picked up the car within minutes. It was a Toyota Corolla and worked great! Everything from checkin to checkout was smooth sailing. I’m going with Avis from now on whenever possible.Reviewed 8 Oct. 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Terrible customer service and no supportPros:The vehicle was nice.Cons:Check in took forever. I was given the wrong car, had to argue and show the receipt from my reservation to finally be given the right vehicle. When I went to return it there was no one there and had to wait for over an hour for them to come back. I was charged an extra day and when I told them about it they said they already put it through and I would have to talk to customer care to get it refunded. So I called customer service who then told me it sounded like a legit charge and didn’t believe me that the check in and check out was that bad, asked to talk to a manager and waited on the phone for 15 mins for the guy to come back on and tell me there wasn’t one available and they would call me back. I still haven’t heard back. Worst customer service of any company I have ever dealt with.Reviewed 25 Jun. 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in New Haven?

Address

155 Burr Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday08:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 203 466 2847

Address

50 Union Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday08:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 203 624 2161

Address

170 Olive Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday08:00 - 23:00
Thursday08:00 - 23:00
Friday08:00 - 23:00
Saturday08:00 - 23:00
Sunday08:00 - 23:00

Phone

+1 203 772 6626

Good to know

Most popular location

155 Burr Street

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in New Haven

  • Economy rental cars from Avis in New Haven are around -17% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in New Haven

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in New Haven?

    Economy (Chevrolet Spark or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in New Haven.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in New Haven?

    Avis has 3 rental locations in New Haven. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from John F Kennedy Intl airport (JFK)?

    Yes