Book Avis car rentals in New Haven

New Haven, CT, United States
10 Aug — 17 Aug
New Haven, CT, United States
Tue 10/8
Noon
Tue 17/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in New Haven

Overall Rating5.8 OkayBased on 15 reviews
Cleanliness
5.8
Comfort
5.8
Overall
5.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
5
2
5
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.8
12 passenger vanPros:Unlimited mileageCons:Rear seats not very comfortable for a long tripReviewed 23 Jan. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great choice of cars--thank you!Reviewed 30 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Terrible customer service and no supportPros:The vehicle was nice.Cons:Check in took forever. I was given the wrong car, had to argue and show the receipt from my reservation to finally be given the right vehicle. When I went to return it there was no one there and had to wait for over an hour for them to come back. I was charged an extra day and when I told them about it they said they already put it through and I would have to talk to customer care to get it refunded. So I called customer service who then told me it sounded like a legit charge and didn’t believe me that the check in and check out was that bad, asked to talk to a manager and waited on the phone for 15 mins for the guy to come back on and tell me there wasn’t one available and they would call me back. I still haven’t heard back. Worst customer service of any company I have ever dealt with.Reviewed 25 Jun. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
JohnPros:Despite having a resevervation and phoning ahead, no car was available. The representative behind the desk was both rude and worthless. Thankfully Budget had a kiosk next to the Avis, and we rented through them.Reviewed 27 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The New Haven staff member was not helpful. He did not explain to me additional charges that were added to my bill before he charged me and then was not helpful in helping me sort out a better course of action.Cons:The company could be more transparent about their fee structures online vs in the store. The company could make their workers feel more valued.Reviewed 6 Oct. 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Inconsistent ChargesPros:The staff was nice and the manager refunded some of the charges.Cons:I rented a car for 3 months and had to battle every month because the receipt never matched up with what I was charged and no one could explain the extra charges. I was also charged an unexpected ~$350 in the last month. I spent an hour discussing charges with an agent when I returned the vehicle and my credit card was still charged more than my bill stated. Not worth the constant headache.Reviewed 1 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Best car rental experience everPros:I chose Avis after I missed getting to New Haven in time to pick up my car from Hertz. Hertz told me I would have to pay $170 more if I picked up the car the next day, plus I would have had to Uber around until then. Avis had a car for almost the same price I had originally been paying with Hertz, their office was right in the train station, and they were open 2 hours later than Hertz! Reserved and picked up the car within minutes. It was a Toyota Corolla and worked great! Everything from checkin to checkout was smooth sailing. I’m going with Avis from now on whenever possible.Reviewed 8 Oct. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
The place is no longer there!Cons:The rental doesn't exist any more.. There is a construction site instead...Reviewed 17 Sep. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I was only one hour late to return it because of the traffic jam. They charge me another day's fee!!!Reviewed 20 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Smooth transaction. Friendly helpful staff.Cons:Car was not clean when we received it. Windshield had dead bugs on it and interior needed a vacuum and wipe down from some drink spills.Reviewed 24 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Excellent economical and good serviceReviewed 29 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pick up took to long. Didn't have my car. Car they gave me was filthy.Cons:Have the car i reserved. Have more locations for one way travel. Don't rent filthy old cars.Reviewed 24 May 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in New Haven?

155 Burr Street, Avis car rentals

Address

155 Burr Street

Hours

Monday10:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:00
Tuesday10:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:00
Wednesday10:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:00
Thursday10:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:00
Friday10:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:00
Saturday10:00 - 14:00
Sunday10:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 203 466 2847

Address

50 Union Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 19:00
Tuesday08:00 - 19:00
Wednesday08:00 - 19:00
Thursday08:00 - 19:00
Friday08:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 203 624 2161

Address

170 Olive Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 19:00

Phone

+1 203 772 6626

Good to know

Most popular location

155 Burr Street

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in New Haven

  • Mini rental cars from Avis in New Haven are around 43% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in New Haven

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in New Haven.

  • Avis has 3 rental locations in New Haven. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes