Book Avis car rentals in Oranjestad

Oranjestad, Aruba
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Oranjestad, Aruba
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Oranjestad

Overall Rating4.7 OkayBased on 73 reviews
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Overall
4.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.8
Value for money
4.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
4
0
1
3
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:Nothing.Cons:I had to wait 2 hours for my car when I arrived. And when I dropped off there was no one there to take the car and I had to wait there as well. Just not helpful at all. Honestly all the other car agencies I’ve used on the island are fantastic. Use thrifty or even hertz. I’ll never use Avis again. Just because it’s a well known name does not make it the better rental place. The staff was unpleasant and nasty, which is unheard of in Aruba in general. I’ll never rent from them again.Reviewed 31 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:No car was available. I paid for a taxi to and from and had no car. Very disappointing experience. Will not use Kayak next time.Reviewed 31 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Overbooked and did not honor my reservationCons:When I went to pick up my rental, I was told “oh we overbooked. We do not have this car for you.” This happened even though I had called the day before to confirm my reservation. I asked why they would take reservations when they didn’t have enough cars, and was told “we just leave the online system open. It does not mean we have cars available.” This same conversation happened with another customer who was online in front of me. We both ended up getting cars from Thrifty next door, who let us know that they hear of this situation from Avis all the time. Incredibly frustrating experience, and was made worse when I called Avis customer service. They would only give a canned response and did nothing to remedy the situation. Avis has lost me as a customer permanently.Reviewed 28 Nov. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The price was good on a 3 week rental. Inside cleanliness was ok. Drop off was ok at 6am with no other customers waiting.Cons:Most noticeably the people running the office at the airport are not very professional. 3 people in the office and only 1 person is there to help everyone waiting in line (it was very frustrating for all the customers), but they did not seem to care. Just looks bad for the Avis name. When I returned the car, one of the people who were idol, checked me out, so they are capable to help. Tiny car, but its the norm in Aruba. Missing the top of the steering column, many scratches/dents/rust when I picked up the car. After driving away, we noticed a noise on front passenger side and noticed the tire was low. We had to add air in the tire ourselves to fix that.Reviewed 31 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Left me and my family without a vehicle on ChristmPros:Nothing!Cons:I made this reservation in early September for a pickup at the airport in December 25th. I called in and verified the reservation two weeks in advance. When we arrived at the airport, with reservation in hand, they said that they didn't have a car for us!! They didn't offer any help, just left me and my wife and three children standing there, on Christmas day! They didn't seem to even care! I had been planning this trip since March! Words cannot express how upset I am with this company! I am looking into perusing this even further!!Reviewed 1 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:The price was in line for the type of car and it performed as expected.Cons:For a 2017 vehicle with only 550 miles, the car was in terrible condition. It has many notations on the sketch that it looked like bulbs on a Christmas tree. The inside of the car was stained on the seats and floor in the front and back. Wow, probably the worse I have ever rented. I was having problems with the rating, or the highest mark would have only been a two star. The counter experience was not stellar to borderline rude and non responsive. Two of them were on their phones for at least three minutes before the waited on us.Reviewed 23 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Avis Rental in ArubaPros:Convenience of having a car. We always rent one when we are in Aruba.Cons:The car had a lot of dings in it and I worried it would continue running. Guess that's to be expected on an island such as Aruba, although I saw man other rental cars that were in good shape. Largest complaint, and we travel a good amount, is that they put a $1000 hold on our credit card which we have NEVER had in all the places we have visited or Aruba the last time we visited. Ridiculous. We had purchased insurance through Allianz but they didn't care. We always get full insurance when traveling outside the United States.Reviewed 14 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
AVIS ArubaPros:Easy pick-up & drop off.Cons:Insurance was 3rd party NOT AvisReviewed 14 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
8.4
Pros:The people were very nice at the location.Cons:The car was a a bit of a tin box, not well maintained.Reviewed 30 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!Cons:My flight was delayed by two hours and when I asked for my reservation they said they had already rented it. They only hold the car for 1 hour. NOWHERE in the reservation information is that made clear. False advertising. I knew AVIS had bad customer service reputation. I had to experience it first hand. Now I can tell you for a fact: DO NOT RENT A CAR FROM THIS COMPANY. NEVER!!!!Reviewed 12 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Didn't have a car when I got there (even though I had a confirmed reservation). Had to find a car elsewhere.Reviewed 23 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
3.2
Cons:Car was in terrible shape. The windows were so dirty on the inside that the defroster didn't work, the brakes squealed when they were applied, the fans that blow the A/C worked intermittently and the passenger side seat belt wouldn't tighten. Lastly the starter seemed to be on it's last leg as it often took two or three times to start the engine.Reviewed 28 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Oranjestad?

Wayaca Z/N, Avis car rentals

Address

Wayaca Z/N

Hours

Monday08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday08:00 - 20:00
Thursday08:00 - 20:00
Friday08:00 - 20:00
Saturday08:00 - 20:00
Sunday08:00 - 20:00

Phone

+297 582 5496

Address

J E Irausquin Blvd 250

Hours

Monday08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday08:00 - 20:00
Thursday08:00 - 20:00
Friday08:00 - 20:00
Saturday08:00 - 20:00
Sunday08:00 - 20:00

Phone

+297 520 1258

Good to know

Most popular location

Wayaca Z/N

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 45/day

Good deal

C$ 42/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Oranjestad

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Oranjestad for C$ 42 or less

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Oranjestad

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Oranjestad costs C$ 45 per day.

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Oranjestad.

  • Avis has 2 rental locations in Oranjestad. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes