Book Avis car rentals at Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic - Las Americas
18 Aug — 25 Aug
Same drop-off
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic - Las Americas
Thu 18/8
Noon
Thu 25/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Reviews

Overall Rating6.0 GoodBased on 22 reviews
Cleanliness
6.4
Comfort
6.1
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
5.8

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
6
1
3
4
1
Find reviews that mention:
8.0
Cars show some were and tear. Agents try to sell you premium insurance that can be considerably costly. Be sure to as what coverage is needed outside of CDW coverage that your credit card provides.Reviewed 13 Jun. 2022
review fromkayak
6.0
Had to walk a long way in darkness to the office to get my car. Slow service. Beat up car, full of scratches and dents. Broken down radio. EXPENSIVE insurance! Slow return! Nothing like Avis in USA.Reviewed 19 Mar. 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Waited 2 hours to pick up car from the desk in the airport--got really confusing info about shuttle to pick up car; car was given to me with almost zero gas!Reviewed 27 Feb. 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
All good their Office is right inside the airport.Reviewed 21 Feb. 2022
review fromkayak
10.0
The staff was very friendly and helpfulReviewed 7 Jan. 2022
review fromkayak
1.9
Experience was horrible. I reserved many days prior to my arrival only to find out the car I reserved wasn’t available. They wanted to give me 2 cars instead of the 15 passenger car that I reserved. The only solution they gave me was a 12 passenger car for the same price of the 15 passenger. Also I had to pay $300 for extra insurance even though on my reservation full insurance was already quoted. The personal must revise the reservations they handle online and have all the cars they offer available because they are just publishing fraudulent announcements to get you to rent with them cars that they don’t have.Reviewed 16 Aug. 2021
review fromkayak
3.9
The agent was really into selling me insurances and telling me that I couldn’t decline the CDW insurance even though I had auto rental Insurance with my Credit card. They charged me for gas refill and I returned it on same level I received it. Not renting from the airport anymore.Reviewed 26 Jul. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:nothingCons:They force you to pay more than the price booked, contrary to sixt car rental who keep the price. They charge un DOP but i Receive a receipt in USD. all wrongReviewed 30 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
4.4
Sub-par car and extortionate insurance policiesPros:Functional SUV in a country where even the main roads can be sketchy, friendly and reasonably professional service.Cons:SUV felt poorly maintained, with sloppy steering, a glitchy transmission and numerous dings and small broken parts that we didn’t discover until on the road (a broken windshield wiper for example). The worst part was that my online quoted $360 weekly rate ballooned to over $1300 when all the local BS nickel & dime fees were factored in (including mandatory insurance when I was told on arrival that my third party Allianz policy which I’d already paid for was not valid in the Dominican Republic, even though I’ve used that company everywhere from Tanzania to Thailand). It’s very hard to maintain a rental fleet on a Caribbean island with limited resources - I get that. However, I felt like I was hustled/extorted, and should’ve been informed in advance that I had to buy ‘local’ insurance in order to drive my car away. Shame on Avis.Reviewed 6 Jan. 2019
review fromkayak
5.6
The car wasn’t on its best conditionsCons:It had a strange smell inside, it had a plastic piece that flew off while we where driving, the suspension had some issuesReviewed 3 Sep. 2018
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Very professional, very close to the airport, easy to get the car, easy to drop it off.Cons:The car had two issues. One of the tires lost a lot of air and also the battery suddenly died, had to open the hood and move the battery cables, then it worked (happened twice).Reviewed 29 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:He hard sell and lying that all rental companies do to rip off people with the CWD...Reviewed 4 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak

Avis car rentals near Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport

Ruta 66, Boca Chica, Avis car rentals

Address

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Hours

Friday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59
Monday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 809 549 0468

Top tips for renting a car from Avis at Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport

  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis at Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport are around 93% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis at Santo Domingo Las Americas Airport