Book Avis car rentals in Santo Domingo

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
27 Sep — 4 Oct
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Santo Domingo

Overall Rating5.0 OkayBased on 21 reviews
Cleanliness
5.5
Comfort
5.6
Overall
4.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.8
Value for money
4.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
1
1
4
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.4
Sub-par car and extortionate insurance policiesPros:Functional SUV in a country where even the main roads can be sketchy, friendly and reasonably professional service.Cons:SUV felt poorly maintained, with sloppy steering, a glitchy transmission and numerous dings and small broken parts that we didn’t discover until on the road (a broken windshield wiper for example). The worst part was that my online quoted $360 weekly rate ballooned to over $1300 when all the local BS nickel & dime fees were factored in (including mandatory insurance when I was told on arrival that my third party Allianz policy which I’d already paid for was not valid in the Dominican Republic, even though I’ve used that company everywhere from Tanzania to Thailand). It’s very hard to maintain a rental fleet on a Caribbean island with limited resources - I get that. However, I felt like I was hustled/extorted, and should’ve been informed in advance that I had to buy ‘local’ insurance in order to drive my car away. Shame on Avis.Reviewed 6 Jan. 2019
review fromkayak
2.0
they gave away our car because our flight was 20 mPros:nothingCons:i had provided our flight information in order to make sure they knew if we were a bit late in picking up our car. Our flight was supposed to get in at 2:08 pm. We were about 20 minutes late, and had to go through customs and arrived at Avis desk at 2:42 and they said they had given away our car and only had a more expensive car for us. No other car rental place had any cars available so we were forced to go with Avis more expensive car. No one at the Avis desk was understanding of how this was completely unfair and refused to charge us the original price quoted. We will NOT be using Avis again unless they reimburse us for our original car!Reviewed 4 Jan. 2016
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:They didn’t charge me for cleaning because they handed me the car three and a half hours late.Cons:If my car would of been given to me on time at 9am.Reviewed 26 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:nothingCons:They force you to pay more than the price booked, contrary to sixt car rental who keep the price. They charge un DOP but i Receive a receipt in USD. all wrongReviewed 30 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
5.2
Cons:I reserved 2 months in advance via Kayak and called to confirm the reservation 3 days prior to my arrival, yet at the time I arrived they did not have my vehicle available. I reserved an SUV and they were offering me a compact car instead. In the end, I had to take another SUV for more that twice the price in my reservation. The pickup process took extremely long. In my case 1 hour and 20 minutes.Reviewed 4 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pickup location does not existPros:The Payless location in the city was shown on my reservation. When I arrived, the location was not there. Had to take a cab out to the airport. Really a hassle.Cons:See above:Reviewed 12 Nov. 2018
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Good service as usual.Cons:Tank was half full when I started, but Avis employee noted that the tank was 2/3 full and I did not pay attention to what he wrote down. When I returned the car half full I had to pay $20 extra for fuel. Given the already very high car rental price in Dominican Republic compared to Europe due to high insurance charges, this was quite annoying.Reviewed 5 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:No car!Reviewed 13 Mar. 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Very professional, very close to the airport, easy to get the car, easy to drop it off.Cons:The car had two issues. One of the tires lost a lot of air and also the battery suddenly died, had to open the hood and move the battery cables, then it worked (happened twice).Reviewed 29 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing!Cons:I ended up with no vehicle and had to cancel the reservation. This is very typical (and chronic) of the Dominican Republic; I show up late a night with my family to find that they want to squeeze us into a car that barely fits 5 people (we are 6). This is not the car I had selected and was willing to pay for (my reservation indicated that it was for a vehicle that can sit 7 people + 3 pieces of luggage). Understanding that this happens all the time, I proactively started calling AVIS in DR a week in advance to avoid surprises. I was suggested to call the date of (again) in order to confirm that we were indeed traveling that date, and to guarantee that the correct vehicle would be there for us. I called the date of the flight, assured the care was already there, and still got a compact car with the excuse that there was no availability. I ended up taking a taxi at 2 AM out of the airport with my whole family (we just don't fit in a compact car!). I was not offer a discounted rate for the crappy/inferior piece of junk they were offering us. In addition, the staff is never helpful, and become rude and belligerent when one tries to indicate that they dropped the ball and all they offer you is to cancel the reservation (obviously for one to deal with the mess of being stuck at the airport). They are so incompetent! By the way, please note 1- I am Dominican, and 2- It happens with all major multinational car rental companies (not just AVIS) in DR, 3- They do try to coerce you into accepting bogus additional services and fee, threatening you that it is mandatory in DR, and holding you and your family hostage. So goddamn frustrating to start one's vacation (repeatedly) on a bad note because, notwithstanding one's best efforts and willingness to pay, one cannot get the vehicle that one needs and reserves, and have to waste one's vacation dates dealing with these type of issues. Such an unpleasant experience (again and again!). Thank you for your time and help.Reviewed 26 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Easy drop offCons:Pick up papers took forever, Dominican Republic taxes not included in initial reservation invoice, car was all scratched and dirty, when asked to be changed they asked us for a 1.000 back up depositReviewed 3 Aug. 2019
review fromkayak
8.0
hassle freePros:good communication in English (I had a different experience with different agency on previous trip) no argument over little dents and scratches the car received during previous rentals (different agency was trying to blame me for everything on a previous visit)Cons:they didn't accept my Allianz insurence I purchased with KAYAK for this trip car was "too clean" inside which caused sometimes "oily" fingers due to an "oily" film on all plastic partsReviewed 17 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Santo Domingo?

Ruta 66, Boca Chica, Avis car rentals

Address

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 809 549 0468

Address

George Washington Ave #517

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Address

Av Romulo Betancourt

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 287 8049

Address

J.F, Kennedy Ave

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 544 1573

Address

Francisco A. Caamano D Ave

Hours

Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 809 535 7191

Good to know

Most popular location

Ruta 66, Boca Chica

Most popular car type

Mini

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Santo Domingo

  • Mini rental cars from Avis in Santo Domingo are around -45% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Santo Domingo

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • Mini (Hyundai i10 or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Santo Domingo.

  • Avis has 5 rental locations in Santo Domingo. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes