Book Avis car rentals in Washington

Washington, DC, United States
4 Oct — 11 Oct
Washington, DC, United States
Mon 4/10
Noon
Mon 11/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Washington

Overall Rating6.5 GoodBased on 100 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
7.0
Overall
6.2
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
19
5
4
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Pros:Horrible service... additional charges for no obvious reasons. WTH!!!Cons:Charge what they saidReviewed 4 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Hassle free Car hirePros:A very efficient pick up procedure, all the staff are very helpful and friendly. We are preferred members and it certainly keeps everything very simple.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing . Cancelled bookingCons:Ridiculous expensive quoute when I tried to add a few hours to the rentalReviewed 19 Jun. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly staff, explained everything clearly, not rushed, car pick-up and drop-off went smoothly -- great rental experience!Reviewed 24 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Weiney Tolessa with Avis at Georgetown location was extremely helpful with my check in process. I greatly appreciated her professionalism.Reviewed 13 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The pickup location had way too few cars for the number of reservations. I waited two hours to get a car because they had to bring cars from other locations and wait for returns. Terrible management. I won't rant from Avis agin.Reviewed 25 May 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Quick in getting me my carCons:I expected to pay half the amount I ended up paying. My estimated total was around $33, and I understand it was an estimation, that's fine. But I ended up paying $80!! AFTER they gave me the receipt and AFTER I asked for them to explain all the charges did they offer me an explanation of "it's because you didn't fill up the gas tank even though it says full". After inquiring some more about what they meant by that, I do understand why they're asking me to fill up the tank and bring in a receipt even if the gas gauge reads "full," but it would have been really nice (and quite simple on their part) to have informed me of that BEFORE I took the car. Yes, they did ask me before I took the car, if I wanted to pay the $30 extra for them to fill up the gas tank. Since I was only driving a few miles for a few hours, I didn't expect to use enough gas to empty the tank, so I kindly declined. When I was talking with them, there was also a line forming, so they were annoyed that I was asking these questions (and it was quite apparent on how annoyed they were). Not using Kayak or Avis again. Extremely disappointed.Reviewed 5 Feb. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Great service! Friendly staff! Gave me a free upgrade since there was going to be a snow storm and they wanted me to stay safe!Reviewed 2 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Friendly and efficient staff both in Washington and Queens.Cons:Nothing.Reviewed 8 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Dropoff was easyCons:Pickup could have been easier had the car been pulled out for meReviewed 17 Jun. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
I wouldn't do a Kayak rental againCons:Fortunately, a day before we left, I noticed that the pick up and return were not what I had specified in making the rental. Rather than being at the airport, they were at some other location in the D.C. area. When I called to change, I found out that there would be an additional charge and then the computer system shut down so I was told to call back. I went to Avis on line and was told that the reservation number was not associated with my name. I called again and cancelled. When I received the cancellation, it had the correct number, but was for some location in PA. I then used my Avis preferred number and made a reservation. Although $30 more than my original reservation, it was uneventful. I will never use a KAYAK arranged rental again!!Reviewed 21 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great staffReviewed 2 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Washington?

1908 L Street Northwest, Avis car rentals

Address

1908 L Street Northwest

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 887 4759

Address

99 H Street Ne

Hours

Monday09:00 - 16:45
Tuesday09:00 - 16:45
Wednesday09:00 - 16:45
Thursday09:00 - 16:45
Friday09:00 - 16:45
Saturday09:00 - 16:45
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 682 2983

Address

4400 Connecticut Avenue Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday07:00 - 19:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 686 5149

Address

5911 Blair Rd Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 202 722 2680

Address

1072 Wisconsin Ave Nw

Hours

Monday07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday07:00 - 19:00
Thursday07:00 - 19:00
Friday07:00 - 19:00
Saturday07:00 - 19:00
Sunday09:00 - 16:45

Phone

+1 202 469 7179

Good to know

Most popular location

1908 L Street Northwest

Most popular car type

Economy

Average price

C$ 100/day

Good deal

C$ 39/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Washington

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Washington for C$ 39 or less
  • Economy rental cars from Avis in Washington are around 29% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Washington

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Washington costs C$ 100 per day.

  • Economy (Chevrolet Spark or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Washington.

  • Avis has 5 rental locations in Washington. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • No (According to our data)

  • Yes

  • No (According to our data)

  • Yes