Book Avis car rentals in Newark

Newark, NJ, United States
29 Sep — 6 Oct
Newark, NJ, United States
Wed 29/9
Noon
Wed 6/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Newark

C$ 66/dayEconomy
C$ 67/dayCompact
C$ 67/dayIntermediate
C$ 74/dayStandard
C$ 70/dayFull-size
C$ 189/dayMinivan
C$ 120/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 92/dayPremium
C$ 101/dayLuxury
C$ 262/dayPremium SUV
C$ 94/dayIntermediate SUV
C$ 97/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Newark

Overall Rating7.1 GoodBased on 38 reviews
Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
7.7
Overall
6.7
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.5
Value for money
6.7

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
6
5
3
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
Cons:Left my iPad in the car and called back a couple of hours later to be told “it could not be found”. Dishonest staffReviewed 6 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was great !!Cons:first car smelled like smoke and they quickly switched to another (upgrade)Reviewed 8 Sep. 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:First car offered to me displayed a "service required' notice on the dashboard. Second car was ok.Reviewed 21 May 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The pick up and drop off experience was great. I also called Avis to extend my reservation and received the information I needed to make an informed decision.Cons:The car was not as clean as I expected - there was obvious food and debris on the seats. There was also a faint smell of smoke. Given the pandemic I would have expected cleaning procedures would have been increased.Reviewed 5 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff was very friendly and drop off was incredibly easy.Cons:I wish the rate was a little bit more efficient. I felt as though I paid a considerable amount for a one day rental.Reviewed 23 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Holiday we e ke nd woe sPros:Car return in Manhattan was great.Cons:$519.00 for a two day plus four hour rental. I knew this going in, but still crazy. What really bothered me most was arriving at the Avis counter at Newark airport with 18 people in front of me. This was a holiday weekend and the counter was staffed with two people. One of the ladies left for about half my wait. (Figured she went on break). After a 35 minute wait I made it to the counter to receive my research reed car. I do not blame the counter staff,just management for not scheduling enough helpReviewed 5 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Like the Nissan RougeCons:The inside windshield was covered with a residue film as if cleaned seemed to have been cleaned with a lysol wipe or something resulting in dangerous visibility; which became noticeable once out into traffic and nighttime headlights. Desperately trying to clean it with my sleeve, I missed the exit resulting in an unwanted late night tour through Newark. The agent at Newark was pleasant enough, though I had no instructions concerning dropbox drop off resulting in two trips of considerable distance from the rental lot at ABE at 11 PM. I’m sure there’s small print somewhere, but the price went from $81 to ringing up to $250, which the agent explained was $100 holding fee, hopefully refundable for my two hour rentsl.Reviewed 15 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Outside of the car was not cleaned at all. Makes it difficult to check for dents and nicks.Cons:clear the exterior of the carReviewed 25 May 2021
review fromkayak
3.2
Easy Tag was not clearly explainedCons:The lady at the counter said the car had Easy Tag. When I got into the car, I saw the box with the Easy Tag. What the lady at the counter failed to tell me is that in order to enable the Easy Tag, you have to open the box or it DOESN'T WORK! We might owe $25 fines for each time we didn't have the Easy Tag open!!!Reviewed 22 Dec. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Car was clean and newCons:Customer service agent was average....Reviewed 18 Nov. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The car was very clean and nice.Reviewed 27 Mar. 2018
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:Drop at EWR is convenient, car was clean and comfortable.Reviewed 23 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Newark?

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28, Avis car rentals

Address

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 973 961 4300

Good to know

Most popular location

28 Newark Airport Bldg 28

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 132/day

Good deal

C$ 97/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Newark

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Newark for C$ 97 or less
  • Book your rental car from Newark in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Newark are around 21% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Newark

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Newark costs C$ 132 per day.

  • Compact (Nissan Versa or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Newark.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Newark. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes