Book Avis car rentals in San Diego

San Diego, CA, United States
3 Oct — 10 Oct
San Diego, CA, United States
Sun 3/10
Noon
Sun 10/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in San Diego

C$ 87/dayEconomy
C$ 85/dayCompact
C$ 89/dayIntermediate
C$ 102/dayStandard
C$ 93/dayFull-size
C$ 132/dayMinivan
C$ 122/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 110/dayPremium
C$ 110/dayLuxury
C$ 92/daySupplier choice
C$ 95/dayIntermediate SUV
C$ 112/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Diego

Overall Rating6.7 GoodBased on 201 reviews
Cleanliness
7.1
Comfort
7.1
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.3
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
20
9
11
17
0
Find reviews that mention:
3.2
Wrong vehicleCons:I booked a van for 7 people and 2 bags. But when I went there to collect the vehicle their representative incorrectly told me that I booked a 12 people van and not the 7 people van. I showed then the confirmation email from Kayak that clearly said that the 7-people van has been booked. They said that the picture of the vehicle is that of the 12 people. Avis might have overbooked their 7-people vans and they should find another way of cheating its customers at the 11th hour, especially when they have the confirmation email that says the 7-people van has been booked.Reviewed 27 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:I wasn’t able to rent the car. Customer service agent was horribly rude.Reviewed 28 Feb. 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:always very helpful.Reviewed 4 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:The clerk was awesome. My issue is that my original rate was not honored! I reserved a vehicle for San Diego Airport online at an affordable rate. When we arrived (after a long day of travel) we were told the address for the reservation wasn’t for SAN, but a location nearly an hour away!!Cons:Our quoted rate should be honored and the website should be MUCH clearer on locations. In fact I would appreciate a refund of the difference in the higher price I ended up paying!Reviewed 19 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:I thought the car I reserved was at San Diego airport. I took the Shutte and waited in line for 40 min. Once I got to the person at desk he told me my reservation was on Kettner Ave and he could not accommodate me. My mistake I get it ..but this was after 40 min wait. The San Diego airport recently changed the car rental shutte system which made me confused. Preferred kettner anyhow, no wait and wonderful Customer service. Airport location was terrible, I advise renting from kettner Ave location. Take an Uber for a few bucks cause it's close to airport and no wait and no problem. The airport rental car shuttle is terrible anywayReviewed 18 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great staff both in San Diego and San Jose, very helpful.Reviewed 21 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was friendly and as helpful as possible.Cons:However the first place we had our rental for was a nightmare. We called the national line and they said they had our car ready, but the local place didn't have it so I had to scramble for a few hours. They told me I needed to go to a different Avis but that Avis never picked up the phone as I called for 2 hours straight. eventually I had to use a backup reservation I made for 2 days, but I only needed the car for 1 day, so I ended up paying $150 more than I needed to. One of the local staff people said that Priceline does not have accurate counts of cars that are available so my suggestion is that Avis and Priceline stop working together because it causes problems for the consumer, where they fix the issue.Reviewed 9 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.8
Cons:Pickup Location was not correct for what I requestedReviewed 27 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Location was convenient!Cons:Never Never Never Never again will I rent from this place! I was assigned a car that was dirty/had stains and smelled of human stench (after the car was left in the hot sun). the company hid stench with/ 4 pine scented hanging on the mirror to distract the stench). It was so disgusting when i got home i had to disinfected all the items i had in the car. Prior to returning the car I had plastic bag on the driver seat. This location scared me for life by renting me a FILTHTY Car............Reviewed 27 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Bait and switchCons:I had requested a car rental near the San DIego airport and when I got to Avis, was told that the pickup for the car was about 20 minutes away and it was suggested that I Uber there. I didn't have time for that, so they referred me to a private car rental service that provides transportation primarily for missionaries heading for Mexico. The private agency owners were very accommodating, but I paid twice the price quoted, got a car that didn't have a functioning speedometer, a brake light that wouldn't turn off, and another dial on the dash that was out of control. Overall, it was a big disappointment and delayed arrival at my destination by about an hour or so.Reviewed 13 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Despite specifically asking for rentals at San Diego airport, kayak populates the list with every franchise in San Diego County. I selected the first one on the list and when I landed at the airport, I was told by the Avis there that my car was reserved at a different Avid 45 minutes away. However, the airport Avis kindly offered to rent me a car at triple my kayak price. Lame programming by Kayak to not at least warn people that the entries in the list are nowhere near the airport lame service by Avis to not honor the reservation I had at one of their sister locations.Reviewed 15 Oct. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:The staff at the airport was friendly and helpful and drop off was very easy. When they found out that my reservation was at a different location they were very helpful in fixing the situation!Reviewed 10 Oct. 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Diego?

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H, Avis car rentals

Address

1110 Torrey Pines Road Suite H

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 454 4621

Address

3355 Admiral Boland Way

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 619 688 5000

Address

4550 La Jolla Village Drive

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 450 6553

Address

500 Hotel Circle North

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 574 5377

Address

1670 Kettner Boulevard Suite 1

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 231 7137

Address

3890 Valley Centre Dr Ste 103

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 755 0400

Address

7815 Balboa Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 858 974 8630

Address

640 Broadway

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday09:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 619 544 0438

Address

2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 588 1309

Address

2790 Kurtz St Ste 1

Hours

Monday07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday07:00 - 16:00
Thursday07:00 - 16:00
Friday07:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 619 220 4920

Address

8720 Miramar Road

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:00
Tuesday07:30 - 18:00
Wednesday07:30 - 18:00
Thursday07:30 - 18:00
Friday07:30 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 858 271 0018

Good to know

Most popular location

2745 Otay Pacific Dr

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

C$ 58/day

Good deal

C$ 48/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Diego

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Diego for C$ 48 or less
  • Book your rental car from San Diego in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in San Diego are around 14% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Diego

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in San Diego costs C$ 58 per day.

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Diego.

  • Avis has 11 rental locations in San Diego. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes