Book Avis car rentals in San Francisco

San Francisco, CA, United States
25 Sep — 2 Oct
San Francisco, CA, United States
Sat 25/9
Noon
Sat 2/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in San Francisco

C$ 57/dayEconomy
C$ 57/dayCompact
C$ 59/dayIntermediate
C$ 69/dayStandard
C$ 61/dayFull-size
C$ 98/dayMinivan
C$ 113/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 78/dayPremium
C$ 92/dayLuxury
C$ 120/dayConvertible
C$ 71/dayIntermediate SUV
C$ 80/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Francisco

Overall Rating7.1 GoodBased on 68 reviews
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.6
Overall
6.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
6
4
4
4
0
Find reviews that mention:
6.0
Avis tried to overcharge at returnCons:We returned a couple of hours late, and rather than charge us for an additional day, which would have been acceptable to us, Avis tried to charge us almost 3x the original contract price. In the end, and after some arguing, Avis agreed to waive the penalty, and charged us a fair price. But it was a hassle getting to that point, especially since we were on a schedule (had a flight to catch) I've rented a lot of cars (mostly for business, through my company), and never once had an issue with a return that was +/- a few hours, but I guess when you rent through a 3rd party agency you have to be a little more careful about following the contract to the letter. We will be more careful for future rentals, but it's a shame that an otherwise decent rental experience, with a company who I have generally been loyal to (I am an Avis Preferred member), had to end on this note.Reviewed 24 Aug. 2017
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Very cleanCons:Pickup, the store we went to was very confused about our rental and the car had some flapping underneathReviewed 13 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Staff was greatCons:I tried to change my reservation via the phone, but was unable to reach anyone. I ended up just dropping the car off a full day early, but was charged the full amount.Reviewed 28 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
TERRIBLEPros:NothingCons:They refused to rent me the car stating that my drivers license and my credit cards need to be from the same country (despite having rented to me on two other occasions). They stated that they had changed their T&Cs but the agent didn't show the actual print to me. When I phoned customer service to double check, they stated that they would be happy to rent me a car with drivers license and credit card from two separate countries. Despite having paid £650 and pre-booking a car, I had to re-pay to a different car rental service to get a car at the last minute. TERRIBLE service by CarTrawler and Avis - DO NOT USE.Reviewed 31 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Staff was friendlyCons:The car interior didn't seem cleanReviewed 15 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:Drop off was fine.Cons:I have used Avis Preferred for convenience and service in the past. The car had two very noticeable dents in the side and there was no notation of this anywhere. I had to flag down an Avis garage person to get information on how to document this. I then had to tell the person at the exit gate and she gave me a hand written note. I could have saved over $35 if I had used Fox Rental, but I chose Avis for their usual reliability and service which they did not provide. The car was not very clean - lots of water spots on the glass and exterior mirrors.Reviewed 8 Oct. 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:They didn't have a small-sized car that I originally requested, and first gave me a large Ford sedan that was very loud (the moment you turn it on, it makes a VROOM noise without accelerating), and when I requested a different car they said they only had a large SUV, so I ended up taking that which was very uncomfortable to drive.Reviewed 25 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Couldn't even pick up my carReviewed 22 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed 18 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
5.6
Avis is not focused on customer servicePros:Car was clean and reliableCons:At pickup I waited in the line for over 1 hour. When finally reaching a customer service rep I was told my full size car was not available but they would give me a Prius at no additional charge. I didn't want a Prius, but she continued to "sell me on the idea" that it was a free upgrade and that I should take it. She finally relented and offered the car I originally reserved, however, she continued to try and sell me a host of upgrades. When I left the counter the line was still over 1 hour long. No other counter had these lines. I would NEVER rent from Avis again.Reviewed 6 Jun. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing.Cons:The location was closed when I got there. How was I able to make a reservation at 5pm when the place closes at 5pm? On top of that, I got there at 4:50 p.m and the location was closed. I attempted to go to the airport Avis location and swap my reservation there but the rate was 3x more expensive and the reservation non transferable. Ended up not getting a car and had to cancel all my plans for the weeeknd. On top of all of this, Avis is now charging me a no show fee.Reviewed 5 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very fast pickup and drop off. Staff were really friendly.Reviewed 19 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Francisco?

780 Mcdonnell Road, Avis car rentals

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday05:00 - 23:59
Thursday05:00 - 23:59
Friday05:00 - 23:59
Saturday05:00 - 23:59
Sunday05:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

675 Post Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 929 2555

Address

500 Beach Street, Suite 120

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 441 4141

Address

333 O'farrell Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 292 4045

Address

821 Howard Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 227 4227

Address

5 Embarcadero Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 395 4758

Good to know

Most popular location

780 Mcdonnell Road

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 120/day

Good deal

C$ 77/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Francisco for C$ 77 or less
  • Book your rental car from San Francisco in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in San Francisco are around 7% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in San Francisco costs C$ 120 per day.

  • Compact (Class Compact SUV or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Francisco.

  • Avis has 6 rental locations in San Francisco. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes