Book Avis car rentals in San Francisco

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 25/4
Thu 2/5
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 48%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in San Francisco

EconomyC$ 81/day
CompactC$ 70/day
IntermediateC$ 70/day
StandardC$ 71/day
Full-sizeC$ 72/day
LuxuryC$ 95/day
Pick-up truckC$ 78/day
CoupeC$ 76/day
Intermediate SUVC$ 81/day
Standard SUVC$ 90/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Francisco

Overall Rating6.8 OkayBased on 120 reviews
Cleanliness
7.7
Comfort
7.5
Overall
6.8
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.8
Value for money
6.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
13
3
0
2
0
0
19
10.0
Very efficient at the counter and in bringing up the car.Reviewed 7 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
oReviewed 29 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The company we used was Budget which is an affiliate of Avis. I guess the name Budget is exactly what you get. I ordered a Ford Transit van for a two week road trip. Instead, we got an old 15 passenger bench seat van. In this van we found d beer, wine, antifreeze, kids books, food wrappers and crumbs, and several interior tips and broken pieces. I called to request an exchange for safety and while accommodating I had to take time out of my vacation to drive an hour away to exchange the van because they would not do it at the location one mile from me. So, we exchanged the van only to be put into a van that we actually did request but with a broken windshield with broken glass on the dashboard and a gas leak. I called, AGAIN, and asked for an exchange and demanded they bring me the new van and take the broken one. They initially asked me to drive, the broken van, two hours away in order to return it. That was out of the question. In the end, they brought me the third van which lasted the rest of the trip and was exactly what we needed. It should not have taken me three vans to get it right - countless phone calls and time on hold, not to mention awful and rude customer service to rent a van. I’d also like to me til , the rate that I locked in on my original rental would not longer be offered or accepted because I needed an exchange, TWICE, due to unsafe and dangerous vehicles they initially put me in; with each exchange came additional fees and a high price. I will NEVER use budget, Avis, or any of their affiliates again.Reviewed 13 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
Waited for two hours to get the car! Their system is slow, their service is not optimal nor friendly! Just bad experience for a lot of money! Will not use them again.Reviewed 6 Oct. 2022
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing.Cons:The location was closed when I got there. How was I able to make a reservation at 5pm when the place closes at 5pm? On top of that, I got there at 4:50 p.m and the location was closed. I attempted to go to the airport Avis location and swap my reservation there but the rate was 3x more expensive and the reservation non transferable. Ended up not getting a car and had to cancel all my plans for the weeeknd. On top of all of this, Avis is now charging me a no show fee.Reviewed 5 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Couldn't even pick up my carReviewed 22 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The staff at the pickup was very friendly and helpful.Cons:I was unable to find the return location, tried calling and no answer. Ended up being late by 20 min and getting charged for a whole extra day. The drop off process was pretty bad.Reviewed 18 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
8.8
Pros:Very cleanCons:Pickup, the store we went to was very confused about our rental and the car had some flapping underneathReviewed 13 Nov. 2020
review fromkayak
4.8
Cons:They didn't have a small-sized car that I originally requested, and first gave me a large Ford sedan that was very loud (the moment you turn it on, it makes a VROOM noise without accelerating), and when I requested a different car they said they only had a large SUV, so I ended up taking that which was very uncomfortable to drive.Reviewed 25 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
5.2
Pros:Staff was friendlyCons:The car interior didn't seem cleanReviewed 15 Aug. 2020
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Staff was greatCons:I tried to change my reservation via the phone, but was unable to reach anyone. I ended up just dropping the car off a full day early, but was charged the full amount.Reviewed 28 Jul. 2020
review fromkayak
7.6
Pros:Pick up staff were nice. Drop off staff were not very friendly and seemed understaffed. I had to wait to check out and get my receipt.Reviewed 3 Feb. 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Francisco?

Address

780 Mcdonnell Road

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 650 877 6780

Address

675 Post Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 929 2555

Address

500 Beach Street, Suite 120

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 441 4141

Address

333 O'farrell Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 17:00
Tuesday07:00 - 17:00
Wednesday07:00 - 17:00
Thursday07:00 - 17:00
Friday07:00 - 17:00
Saturday07:00 - 17:00
Sunday07:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 292 4045

Address

821 Howard Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 227 4227

Address

5 Embarcadero Center

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 415 395 4758

Good to know

Most popular location

780 Mcdonnell Road

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 106/day

Good deal

C$ 77/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • There are Avis car rentals in San Francisco to cater to any trip or traveler. If you are planning to stay in the city, we recommend a compact car or sedan to navigate the city’s hilly terrain, narrow streets, and tight parking spots. Exploring the surrounding areas, like Muir Woods or Napa Valley, might be more comfortable in an SUV. A convertible is a great way to enjoy the California weather and the beautiful scenery.
  • Avis gives you the option of one-way rentals to customize your journey. With numerous Avis locations throughout the United States, planning an interstate road trip will be a breeze. Most Avis vehicles come with unlimited mileage, and many of our branches eliminate one-way drop-off fees, which offers a more budget-friendly choice compared to other rental companies. Get the advantages of flexibility, cost savings, and the freedom of unlimited mileage for your one-way adventure.
  • If you need a car for an extended period, consider the Avis Flex program, which gives flexibility and cost savings for rentals of one month or longer. As your rental period extends, you'll benefit from competitive rates, all without committing to a fixed contract. Avis Flex also provides the flexibility of one-way rentals for more extended journeys. Additionally, you can enjoy reduced rates for Loss Damage Waiver (LDW) on monthly rentals and even have the option to switch vehicles throughout your rental period, ensuring a hassle-free experience.
  • Enrolling in the Avis Preferred program is a smart move if you’re a frequent traveler. This program offers benefits like faster check-ins, access to exclusive vehicles, and the ability to earn points for free rentals. It also gives you the option to use the Avis app to manage your rental in real-time.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Francisco for C$ 77 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in San Francisco at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in San Francisco are around 65% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Francisco

  • Where are the best pickup locations for Avis car rentals in San Francisco?

    There are Avis locations at each of the major airports in the city, San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and Oakland International Airport (OAK). The rates are comparable at both locations, so it’s best to choose the location that you are flying into. At SFO, you will head to the rental car center after collecting your baggage. Follow the signs for the Air Train to take you there. This location is open 24 hours and accepts after-hours returns. If you are flying into OAK airport, proceed to the rental car shuttle from the baggage claim area. This location also accepts after-hours returns, and the shuttle bus runs 24 hours to make drop-offs easy and get you to your flight.

  • What different car rental amenities are offered at Avis in San Francisco?

    Avis offers amenities to add to the flexibility, convenience, and comfort of your rental. Their one-way and long-term rentals allow you to customize the contract to suit your needs. The wide range of vehicles, including hybrids and convertibles, ensures that you will find the right car for your trip. With no additional driver fees in California, you can share the driving responsibilities while keeping things affordable. Avis also provides the convenience of online reservations, loyalty programs like Avis Preferred, and optional add-ons like GPS navigation, child safety seats, and roadside assistance to enhance your rental experience.

  • Where are the best places to park Avis car rentals in San Francisco?

    Finding parking in San Francisco can be a challenge due to limited space and high demand. However, some places we recommend include parking garages and lots throughout the city. Lots near Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and other major attractions tend to have more available spaces. Metered street parking is available, but it is metered and has a 2-hour time limit. Outside of the city center, some neighborhoods offer free parking, like the Sunset and Richmond districts. When parking on a hill, be sure to turn your vehicle's wheels and engage the parking brake before exiting.  

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in San Francisco?

    On average a rental car from Avis in San Francisco costs C$ 106 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in San Francisco?

    Compact (Ford Focus Sedan or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Francisco.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in San Francisco?

    Avis has 6 rental locations in San Francisco. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: San Francisco airport (SFO)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from San Francisco airport (SFO)?

    Yes