Book Avis car rentals in Liberia

Liberia, Costa Rica
1 Aug — 8 Aug
Liberia, Costa Rica
Sun 1/8
Noon
Sun 8/8
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Liberia

C$ 38/dayFull-size
C$ 18/daySUV
C$ 40/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 12/dayMini
C$ 57/dayPick-up truck
C$ 52/dayCompact SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Liberia

Overall Rating4.5 OkayBased on 16 reviews
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Overall
4.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
4.5
Value for money
4.5

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
1
5
4
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.8
The agent did not careCons:The agent that checked us in, did not care bout the problems I had with the vehicle.Reviewed 8 Oct. 2017
review fromkayak
6.8
Just okayPros:The car was really nice, very new and clean and drove easy.Cons:Its a huge hassle getting the price back down to a reasonable number. I knew it was going to be more than the price quoted from my research, but its annoying having to pretty much haggle with them. Also, I had a minor issue with the car and getting someone on the phone was way more difficult than I would have thought, given that there is a roadside assistance number. Thankfully the issue turned out to be no big deal, but I worry how bigger issues would be handled.Reviewed 3 May 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Beware - Bait and Switch and insurance scamPros:The rental car did not break down.Cons:I reserved a Jeep Wrangler. When I arrived at Avis, they gave me a compact car with 2 wheel drive. I had to pay extra to get a mid size SUV (there were no Jeeps). I also purchased and paid in advance for Allianz rental insurance at the same time I booked the rental which I was not sent a policy or reservation number for. At Avis, was told that the insurance purchased was not valid in Costa Rica and state law required me to purchase insurance for an extra $37 per day. I had no email or policy number to prove that I had already purchased insurance even though I was charged for it in advance on my credit card. I'll now have to file a dispute with the credit card company. All of the cars at Avis had significant dents and scrapes and the interiors and seats were covered in armor all.Reviewed 29 Nov. 2018
review fromkayak
6.0
Made us purchase insurance twice.Pros:Car was what we expected.Cons:The rate that we were given was not the rate that they made us pay. We paid for the extra insurance when we booked online and when we got to Avis they said that they wouldn't take that insurance, even after we showed proof of it. We rented the car with our credit card that also had insurance, but they made us pay $29 extra per day in insurance. They said that was the basic rate and wouldn't let us take the car without it. So we paid for insurance twice. We watched as they did it to the guy who came behind us too. We researched it and we had the right to refuse but then they had the right to refuse our rental. We were in the country with kids and couldn't be stuck without a car so they had us in a catch 22. We paid the extra money, but for a 7 day rental it was nearly twice the original amount. We rent yearly in Costa Rica, and never had this happen. Will never use Avis in Costa Rica again.Reviewed 15 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:They literally left me stranded without a vehicle. Atrocious. I will never use them again. They could have told me that they didn’t have a car for me before I actually arrived in Costa Rica.Reviewed 1 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Pick up and drop off was super easy. I had misread my flight departure time and ended up in a super rush. When dropping off the car I let the man in my office know how rushed I was and he got a driver for the airport shuttle immediately. It was very much appreciated.Reviewed 15 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Upsold me on fees, downsold me on sercicesPros:Car workedCons:Upsold very expensive insurance at basically the same cost of the rental itself. When I tried to drop off car, no one was there and calling avis customer service was useless.Reviewed 27 Dec. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Kayak sold us the rental and insurance for one price and when we got there it was more then double we are so upset about the drastic cost difference we didn't figure that cost and it affected are whole vacation. Kayak should be more aware of the outside country costs and that you can't buy USA insurance for an out of country car! Disgusted and feel a refund from kayak would be the right thing for kayak to do!!!!Reviewed 3 Jun. 2017
review fromkayak
3.6
Pros:i asked for 7 seat car , and got car for 5 + childReviewed 10 Jan. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:There were no SUV's available. Wait time was over an hour. Had to settle for small compact car with manual transmition. Did not provide refund at time of rental. Very poor serviceCons:There were no SUV's available. Wait time was over an hour. Had to settle for small compact car with manual transmition. Did not provide refund at time of rental. Very poor serviceReviewed 28 Dec. 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Pros:Car was comfortable and clean.Cons:I always feel that I am getting taken advantage of when I rent in a foreign country. Liberia location would not give me a car unless I signed a blank credit card imprint. It's like signing a blank check and hoping for the best. Is this really necessary? Goes against everything I know about financially protecting myself.Reviewed 8 Jul. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The staff who rented me the car was a little meanCons:They had hidden mandatory insurance feesReviewed 17 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Liberia?

Liberia Intl Airport, Avis car rentals

Address

Liberia Intl Airport

Hours

Monday05:00 - 22:30
Tuesday05:00 - 22:30
Wednesday05:00 - 22:30
Thursday05:00 - 22:30
Friday05:00 - 22:30
Saturday05:00 - 22:30
Sunday05:00 - 22:30

Phone

+506 2668 1138

Good to know

Most popular location

Liberia Intl Airport

Most popular car type

Mini

Average price

C$ 18/day

Good deal

C$ 17/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Liberia

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Liberia for C$ 17 or less
  • Book your rental car from Liberia in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Mini rental cars from Avis in Liberia are around 77% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Liberia

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Liberia costs C$ 18 per day.

  • Mini (Suzuki Jimny or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Liberia.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Liberia. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes