Book Avis car rentals in Kailua-Kona

Kailua-Kona, The Big Island, HI, United States
25 Sep — 2 Oct
Kailua-Kona, The Big Island, HI, United States
Sat 25/9
Noon
Sat 2/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Avis car rental prices in Kailua-Kona

C$ 80/dayEconomy
C$ 83/dayCompact
C$ 87/dayIntermediate
C$ 113/dayStandard
C$ 87/dayFull-size
C$ 133/dayFull-size SUV
C$ 109/dayPremium
C$ 161/dayLuxury
C$ 123/dayConvertible
C$ 181/dayPremium SUV
C$ 113/dayIntermediate SUV
C$ 116/dayStandard SUV

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Kailua-Kona

Overall Rating6.1 GoodBased on 15 reviews
Cleanliness
6.4
Comfort
6.1
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.2
Value for money
6.0

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
3
0
1
1
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.8
I felt cheatedPros:Easy and efficient drop offCons:I paid for insurance when booking through KAYAK and was then told there was no insurance on the car. This was an unpleasant surprise after a flight. Travelling with a baby (after a flight) I didn’t have the luxury of time to go through emails and booking details to find out where the confusion (or dishonesty) was. Turned out I bought separate insurance not linked to Avis and the car through KAYAK. So I ended up paying twice and the overall deal was a lot more expensive than it should have been. The Avis attendant also wouldn’t stop chatting unnecessarily so I couldn’t concentrate on the business of getting the car asap and my family to our accommodation. The car was OK but not clean enough but I guess acceptable for a rental.Reviewed 21 Oct. 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Disaster!Cons:April 2018: The absolute WORST rental car experience I have experienced. Worst of any retail/service experience, for that matter. Over 1 hour in line to get to the counter, only to be given my paperwork and then told to wait outside for another 45 minutes for the car! Management has created a culture of not caring about the customer, and it shows. Staff are surly, slow and uncaring. Exception: Phillip who took pity and went to get our car despite it not being his job. Do not subsidize this failed business and it’s incompetent management.Reviewed 21 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:Staff was helpfulReviewed 6 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
6.4
Pros:Short line for Avis members.Cons:No car ready when I arrived. Car had tape residue marks over all door and trunk seams. Car was so under-powered, it was scary driving it. There are many steeply graded roads on the Big Island. The car slowed to 20 MPH trying to ascend some of the hills.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2016
review fromkayak
5.6
Be sure to conduct walk aroundPros:The agent was pleasant and we were assigned the correct car. Cost was what we expected.Cons:The agent expected us to do our own car walkaround and record the results on a form attached to the key. There were several marks on the car - we took photos of the car in the rental parking lot to be safe. Be sure you do a walkaround before leaving with the car.Reviewed 21 Aug. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Fast car checkout and genuinely friendly staffReviewed 10 May 2019
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Not much.Cons:Car was dirty, had 40K+ miles and some of the electronics would only work sporadically. Also it took 30 minutes to get the car with only four other customers at the desk at that time. They were three people behind the counter and it took them that long to get five customers out the door.Reviewed 27 Mar. 2016
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was friendly, car was clean.Cons:The line was long.Reviewed 21 Feb. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:SELECTIONCons:priceReviewed 3 Nov. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Worst customer service, disgusting carPros:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiCons:Nothing, this was one of the least value for $ I’ve ever experienced. The car was dirty crashed and old and the customer service woman at the counter was unbelievably rude upon check in, don’t start your vacation off with this terrible branch in HawaiiReviewed 9 Apr. 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:In and out great customer service, will be back next year and do it againReviewed 23 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
2.8
Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upCons:Rates when booked does not match rates when picked upReviewed 16 Oct. 2018
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Kailua-Kona?

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One, Avis car rentals

Address

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Hours

Monday05:00 - 22:30
Tuesday05:00 - 22:30
Wednesday05:00 - 22:30
Thursday05:00 - 22:30
Friday05:00 - 22:30
Saturday05:00 - 22:30
Sunday05:00 - 22:30

Phone

+1 808 327 3000

Good to know

Most popular location

73-361 Kupipi Street Suite One

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

C$ 78/day

Good deal

C$ 66/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Kailua-Kona for C$ 66 or less
  • Book your rental car from Kailua-Kona in Avis at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price
  • Intermediate rental cars from Avis in Kailua-Kona are around 13% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Kailua-Kona

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in Kailua-Kona costs C$ 78 per day.

  • Intermediate (Hyundai Elantra or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Kailua-Kona.

  • Avis has 1 rental location in Kailua-Kona. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes