Book Avis car rentals in San Juan

San Juan, Puerto Rico
27 Sep — 4 Oct
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mon 27/9
Noon
Mon 4/10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Juan

Overall Rating6.3 GoodBased on 69 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.8
Overall
6.1
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.0
Value for money
5.9

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
5
2
3
9
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Cons:We reserved an SUV and they had none and could only give us a car.Reviewed 24 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak
3.6
Poor customer serviceCons:unfortunately, was unable to pick up the car. Spoke to the agent and told him that we may be a few minutes late (flight was landing at 4pm) he immediately stated that he was out the door by 4:30 (please note that we were only going to be probably 5 to 10 minutes late). Also, it was not in the immediate vicinity and that we had to take a taxi because they did not offer shuttle services which is something that we did not know about. Needless to say, we were very put off by his attitude especially when we had called ahead of time to let him know, guess he needed to get out on time. Booked another car with another car rental.......Reviewed 19 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Worst customer service with a 5 hour waitPros:The car was clean and brand newCons:We had a "reservation" at noon but were told when we arrived that it wouldn't be ready for about 30 minutes. We just got some lunch only to return and find 7 more people waiting for their noon "reservations" as well who were all apparently on the list before us. The employees told us they simply didn't have enough cars and didn't have any idea when they would be returning, as if that wasn't literally the only thing their job description entailed. They also continued to tell each new customer that it would be 30 minutes when it was clear they were lying. When, after over 3 hours I asked if they could even guarantee a car for us as our hotel was in a town 2 hours away, she said "I hope so." That was it. Finally, after over 5 hours, we got a car which was much smaller than the one we requested. At that point we just wanted anything to get us out of the 3x5 box that was their office, so we crammed in and drove away. They didn't offer any condolences or money back or anything for having wasted an entire day of so many peoples vacation. Worst experience I've ever had traveling as this seemed like the norm for them to let people think they're making a reservation and then having nothing for them. Absolutely terribleReviewed 30 Dec. 2015
review fromkayak
8.8
Efficient Car Rental from Hato Rey Avis LocationPros:The drop off was very quick, as was the pick up. I was surprised how fast I was in my car, as the last time I rented a car on the island with a different company, it took forever. I also really appreciated they didn't try to get you to add a bunch of extras at the counter, so the price was the same.Cons:It was a little inconvenient that I had to take a taxi to pick up the car, but that was my own fault for not double checking the location. For the record, it's a $22 cab fare from the airport to the rental location in Hato Rey. On the way back I had a friend drive me to the airport, so that worked out better. It's just something to be aware of if you're renting from the Hato Rey location. The $20 fee to use the toll sticker seemed like a lot, but every rental car company seems to have a similar policy in place.Reviewed 25 Jul. 2016
review fromkayak
2.0
Avis gave my rental car awayPros:I like NOTHING about Avis and their Customer service sucks.Cons:When I arrived on 12/25 IN San Juan Puerto Rico to pick up my rental car at the Convention Center Sheraton the Avis rental office was closed. There were 2 cars sitting in the lot. No one from the Avis office would respond to calls to open the office so I could pick up the car I rented. Customer service at the airport location advised that no cars were available on the island. I never got my car. I spent over $900 dollars in extra hotel rooms, taxis and a shuttle to get to and from Rincon on the west coast.Reviewed 5 Jan. 2017
review fromkayak
8.0
Pros:The attention provided by the service reps.Cons:Had problems getting in touch with loss and found. They never answer the phone. Took me awhile to get a service (on the same day and 2 more days after rental) of rental. Call Avis Rental because I left an item in the trunk of the rental car (dropped-off in San Juan). Gave all the information related to the lose and call rental information. I addressed that I was returning back to San Juan and had a rental car with them, based on the conversation I felt that they had the information and that once I returned the item was going to be available. To my surprise the item was not available. The service rep said that he was going to inform the Supervisor, still waiting for a response from AVIS San Juan.Reviewed 20 Mar. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Our car was given away, we never received the rentalsCons:We had no transportationReviewed 14 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They over booked & canceled without notice...terrible service!!Reviewed 13 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:The staff was kind and the car was clean.Cons:We will never again rent from Avis. After traveling all day with 5 kids, renting three cars from this company and having to stand just stand and wait for what seemed like an eternity. The company is poorly understaffed and needs to one up with a much better system because the one in place will nose dive the entire business. Our rental was DOUBLE the price we had paid years prior and the service didn’t match what we paid, not even close.Reviewed 4 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was very friendly and courteousCons:OverpricedReviewed 2 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:No mechanical problems, nice carCons:We had a two week rental. On first day of the tental the agency called saying they had no cars leaving us stranded at our Airbnb. He said they might have a car later or maybe it would be 3 days. For hours after that call they would not answer their phone.. Finally they did answer and he had one come in.Reviewed 24 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Easily the worst experience I've ever had. Made the reservation a month in advance and by the time I arrived at the counter, the clerk had the audacity to tell me there are no cars available for me until the next day. What is the point of having a reservation if you're not going to honor it. Had to pay a $100 cab ride to get to my hotel.Reviewed 28 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in San Juan?

1050 Avenida Ashford, Avis car rentals

Address

1050 Avenida Ashford

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00
Sunday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 238 5527

Address

200 Convention Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 16:00
Tuesday08:00 - 16:00
Wednesday08:00 - 16:00
Thursday08:00 - 16:00
Friday08:00 - 16:00
Saturday08:00 - 16:00

Phone

+1 787 993 3633

Good to know

Most popular location

1050 Avenida Ashford

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 43/day

Good deal

C$ 43/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in San Juan

  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in San Juan for C$ 43 or less

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in San Juan

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • On average a rental car from Avis in San Juan costs C$ 43 per day.

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in San Juan.

  • Avis has 2 rental locations in San Juan. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • No (According to our data)

  • Yes