Book Avis car rentals in St. Louis

St. Louis, MO, United States
23 Sep — 30 Sep
St. Louis, MO, United States
Thu 23/9
Noon
Thu 30/9
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in St. Louis

Overall Rating6.5 GoodBased on 41 reviews
Cleanliness
7.0
Comfort
7.2
Overall
6.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.8
Value for money
6.4

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
7
1
5
5
0
Find reviews that mention:
2.0
UnbelievabelCons:You wrote a review for Avis Rent A Car 2 days ago 1.0 star rating 7/25/2018 An unbelievable event that is stranger than fiction. I made a reservation on 6/28/18 for a 3-day rental of a full size car in St. Louis, MO, beginning yesterday, 7/24/18. Yesterday, before making my flight to St. Louis, I realized that the reservation had been made for a location off the airport property, so I called the corporate customer service number to see if this could be changed. It turns out the PGA event in St. Louis left no cars available at the airport. I thanked the agent and ended the call. When I got to the off-site location (via Lyft but no fault of Avis), the agent there told me my reservation had been changed to June of next year in Alaska for a SUV vehicle! I called the corporate customer service number and explained my dilemma, and they said they could do nothing to change it. Because of the PGA event, this off-site location was out of cars (except for the one I had reserved but then lost due to the change in reservation). I filed a grievance and asked to be called by a supervisor in 24 hours. No call. No car. No help. So I have been stuck taking several Lyft rides to my business appointments. Unbelievable.Reviewed 27 Jul. 2018
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Wait time for getting the car. This shouldn't take so long comparing it to other Renters. It took me 90 minutes to get my car which is unacceptable despite a pandemic.Reviewed 3 Jan. 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:Our minivan was given away, they gave us an suv that was too small for my family, it had no gas, was not cleaned and smelled like smoke. Front desk was no help.Reviewed 21 Mar. 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:staff when I got the car was super nice and friendly.Cons:1. Car was dirty, mud in back seat. I had to clean it up once we noticed it at our destination. 2. Gas tank was not full, probably 3/4. When I returned it, the drop-off guy asked if I had any proof. Really, I have to prove it to you. Was I supposed to pull off on the freeway in heavy traffic and take a picture. Why couldn't he have told me how sorry he was instead of questioning my integrity. I wasn't asking for anything. 3. Car was supposed to be non-smoking but clearly had been smoked in. My wife even found a cigarette lighter under the seat. Told drop-off guy and he didn't care or make a note of it. Color me disappointed.Reviewed 7 Jan. 2020
review fromkayak
8.0
a little slow...but flexiblePros:I made a reservation without realizing I it was for a location other than the international airport location where I was arriving. It took a long time to get to the desk upon arrival. Once I got to the desk, I found out my mistake. To complicate matters, it was on Thursday before the Easter weekend. The other location was 30 minutes or so away. The rental agent gave me the price for a new reservation at the airport--but it was almost double the price of my reservation. After several minutes and a final request to see if the rental agent could do ANYTHING to help me, he found a rate that was $20 higher than my original reservation. I really appreciated that!!! Sometimes slower is okay. Thank you!Cons:If I could have gotten through the process faster, I could have spent more time seeing St. Louis...but as mentioned...I made the reservation mistake and Avis/Budget helped me out.Reviewed 24 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
6.0
Long lines and very disorganizedPros:My car was not ready/available so they upgraded me to the next class to reduce my wait (I had a 2.5 hour drive and it was late at night)Cons:Total chaos at the counter with long lines and slow response. Likewise, there was a delay when leaving the lot (10-15 minutes may not sound like a problem but when it's 10 pm all I want to do is get out of there with minimal wait and there is no good reason it should take more than a couple of minutes to show someone a contract and drive away). Also, when I turned the car in they apparently did not charge me correctly (based on the original agreement through Kayak) and I suspect I will waste 10-15 more minutes on the phone trying to get this corrected. Isn't AVIS in the car rental business (how difficult is this)?Reviewed 20 Apr. 2017
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:NothingCons:Long line because the checkout process hasn't changed in 30 years. Slow computers and too many unnecessary steps. Person offered me a pickup truck to get out faster. Got to the truck and someone else was in it. Then they gave me another car which was smoked in. Had to return to another Avis. They had no cars to swap but gave me a minivan that didn't have smoke, but wasn't clean. Worst rental experience ever. Will never use Avis ever again. It will go bankrupt.Reviewed 9 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was nice but they didn't have the car I reservedCons:Have the car I reserveReviewed 29 Apr. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was friendly, quick and informativeCons:Nothing, It was flawlessReviewed 7 May 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I called ahead of time to let Avis know my flight would be late and they said that would be fine. But then when I flew into the St. Louis airport they closed early. Super frusterating.Reviewed 7 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
8.0
Cons:Cleaner carReviewed 15 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Upgrade off airport!Cons:More choices of cars!Reviewed 29 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in St. Louis?

10482 Natural Bridge Road, Avis car rentals

Address

10482 Natural Bridge Road

Hours

Monday06:00 - 22:00
Tuesday06:00 - 22:00
Wednesday06:00 - 22:00
Thursday06:00 - 22:00
Friday06:00 - 22:00
Saturday06:00 - 22:00
Sunday06:00 - 22:00

Phone

+1 314 426 7766

Address

811 Spruce Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 588 9452

Address

10709 Watson Road

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 965 2111

Address

13009 Manchester Road

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 966 3544

Address

2925 Olive Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday10:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 534 9800

Address

11157 Lindbergh Business Court

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 845 1829

Address

799 Clark Avenue

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 314 588 9452

Good to know

Most popular location

10482 Natural Bridge Road

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in St. Louis

  • Economy rental cars from Avis in St. Louis are around 25% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in St. Louis

  • As the situation changes with coronavirus (COVID-19) Avis will continually update its policies accordingly. Please contact Avis directly for the latest information. You can find up-to-date information on the coronavirus response of Avis here: Coronavirus (COVID-19) update from Avis

  • Economy (Ford Fiesta or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in St. Louis.

  • Avis has 7 rental locations in St. Louis. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes