Search
Deals
Reviews
Locations
Tips
FAQs

Book Avis car rentals in Chicago

Driver's age: 26-65
Thu 23/5
Thu 30/5
Here is why travelers choose KAYAK

Save up to 49%Compare multiple travel sites with one search.

Free to useThere are no hidden charges or fees.

Filter your dealsFilter by car type, brand and more. Instantly customize your results.

Book with flexibilityUse our "free cancellation" filter for maximum flexibility at no extra cost.

Avis car rental prices in Chicago

EconomyC$ 85/day
CompactC$ 67/day
IntermediateC$ 87/day
StandardC$ 90/day
Full-sizeC$ 90/day
PremiumC$ 95/day
LuxuryC$ 95/day
Intermediate SUVC$ 93/day
Standard SUVC$ 98/day
Best rates found by KAYAK users in the past 48 hours.

Reviews for Avis in Chicago

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
" and very helpful."(in 779 reviews)
" drop off easy."(in 779 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)
Overall Rating6.6 OkayBased on 151 reviews
Cleanliness
7.2
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.5
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.3
Value for money
6.2

Recent reviews

Traveler rating
16
6
0
4
2
0
19
2.0
Stood in line for over an hour waiting to get a car because they did not have enough! Car smelt like cigarettes badly. I paid 250 $ for a really small car where with Alamo/National we paid 700 for a ford escape for 8 days. Only positive is it got me to where I was going.Reviewed 17 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
8.0
No washer fluid in dead of winter storms. Rattle in front wheel. Choppy check in service but needed in a pinch so beggars can't be choosers. Very expensive one way trip when train cancelled.Reviewed 15 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
10.0
GoodReviewed 14 Jan. 2024
review fromkayak
2.0
I reserved a 15 passenger van. The confirmation said it was only a 12 passenger van. I canceledReviewed 26 Dec. 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
Always have good experiences including this past weekend.Reviewed 15 Dec. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
The help at the counter was fantasticReviewed 20 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
8.0
The drop off in Madison was super easy and took little to no time. We did however have to spend almost an hour in line at Chicago just to pick up. All information was entered online so the wait was frustrating. We were inline so long four unrelated customers started brain storming how the process could be improved. Lol I am not sure that is something they should be bonding over.Reviewed 11 Oct. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I reserved a full size car and they could only give me a compact, yet they would not adjust the price. It pulled to the right, radio didn't work, had a half tank of gas, and was noisy.Reviewed 24 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
2.0
I only liked the vehicle...that was it. Waiting in line for 2 hours for a rental car was absurd. A second staff member finally came to help with a long waiting line, and after a couple minutes the first staff member left while there was still a long line. Altogether took way too long. On the return, my mileage was entered as if I took possession of the vehicle with 1 mile (not nearly possible consideringthe scuffs I pointed out upon taking possession). I was overcharged for mileage overage even though I drove approximately 120 miles in 3 days. I was charged $1,731.10 when I was quoted $310.79. I had submitted a dispute with Avis, and now after no results have disputed the charge with my credit card.Reviewed 15 Sep. 2023
review fromkayak
5.9
Please hire more folks to work at the front desk. There were 18 people in line and only 3 people to help them. I stood in line for 40 minutes.Reviewed 23 Jun. 2021
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:Nice car and very clean. Drop off was easyCons:Price with add ons is ridiculous Pick up was horrible at Midway desk with only two agents working neither of whom was trying very hard to move the line. I was only 4 people back and had to wait 45 minutes to get to the counter.Reviewed 11 May 2021
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Pickup was confusing as avis had no one at the desks, ghost town. Drop off was simple.Cons:Vehicle had broken glass under the seats and on floor mats at pickup, must've had broken windows previously?? 6 hour drive sounded like driving with the windows open, very loud and interior was not clean even though avis put a sticker on the dash starting vehicle was. Clean/sanitize from top to bottom....Reviewed 22 Feb. 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis car rentals in Chicago?

Address

10255 West Zemke Blvd

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 773 825 4600

Address

5150 West 55th Street

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:5906:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:5900:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 773 948 7001

Address

214 North Clark Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 312 782 6825

Address

8181 South Cicero Avenue

Hours

Monday08:00 - 12:00
Tuesday08:00 - 12:00
Wednesday08:00 - 12:00
Thursday08:00 - 12:00
Friday08:00 - 12:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 708 424 1285

Address

1830 S Wabash Ave

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday07:00 - 18:00
Sunday07:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 312 225 0788

Address

335a South Franklin St

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 708 392 6979

Address

933 W North Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 312 219 6151

Address

Patton Drive Building 825

Address

Restricted Atlantic Aviation Kmdw - Private Planes Only

Address

3721 North Broadway Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 773 528 6400

Address

3255 West Fullerton Avenue

Hours

Monday07:30 - 17:00
Tuesday07:30 - 17:00
Wednesday07:30 - 17:00
Thursday07:30 - 17:00
Friday07:30 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday09:00 - 14:00

Phone

+1 773 252 4325

Address

455 North Park Drive

Hours

Monday09:00 - 14:00
Tuesday09:00 - 14:00
Wednesday09:00 - 14:00
Thursday09:00 - 14:00
Friday09:00 - 14:00
Saturday08:00 - 12:00
Sunday08:00 - 12:00

Phone

+1 312 782 6825

Good to know

Most popular location

10255 West Zemke Blvd

Most popular car type

Compact

Average price

C$ 183/day

Good deal

C$ 174/day

Top tips for renting a car from Avis in Chicago

  • Avis car rentals in Chicago offer state-of-the-art rental facilities to serve renters during their time in Chicago. Customers in any of their Chicago rental locations can access different vehicles from their wide selectionand access all the amenities Avis provides. The Lost and Found policy in Avis car rentals in Chicago allow renters to search for and retrieve forgotten items in their rentals at no cost. In addition, Avis car rentals in Chicago provide extended roadside assistance services like lockout service, flat tire assistance and replacement, jump start, and fuel delivery to their renters.
  • Consider booking Avis car rentals in Chicago at Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD) for a seamless rental experience with perks for repeat customers. The Avis car rental desk is located not too far from the airport and is easy to get to. To get there, upon arrival at ORD head to the lower level baggage claim and follow the signs to the exit for buses. Exit the building and board the free Avis shuttle on the third curb to take you to the Avis rental booth that is open 24 hours and has friendly staff.
  • You can book Avis car rentals in Chicago in any of the 11 rental booths for a fast and convenient rental process. Avis car rentals in Chicago have counters in airports like ORD and Chicago Midway International Airport and neighborhood or corporate in locations like 8181 Soth Cicero Avenue, 1830 S Wabash Avenue, Patton Drive Building 825, 214 North Clark Street in North Loop downtown, 455North Park Drive at Loews Chicago Hotel, 335A South Franklin Street in Chicago Downtown, and 933 West North Avenue at Lincoln Park.
  • When parking your rental within Chicago to access restaurants, offices, tourist attractions, and other spots, have no worry. There are a variety of both free and metered parking spots. Metered parking in downtown Chicago outside the Central Business District typically costs around $2 per hour but is free on Sundays. In Chicago overnight street parking is free and some hotels like The Ohio House Motel offer free parking for customers. The most common parking spots in Chicago are 300N State Street, Millenium Park Garage, Hubbard Place Garage, 127N Dearborn Street Parking Garage, and 111 W Kinzie Street Garage.
  • 25% of our users found rental cars from Avis in Chicago for C$ 174 or less.
  • Book your rental car from Avis in Chicago at least 1 day before your trip in order to get a below-average price.
  • Compact rental cars from Avis in Chicago are around -12% cheaper than other car types, on average.

FAQs about renting a car from Avis in Chicago

  • What add-ons does Avis car rentals in Chicago offer?

    Avis car rentals in Chicago cater to the different travel needs of renters to ensure they have a smooth time in Chicago. Avis car rentals in Chicago provides child safety seats, baby seats, and booster seats for children using LATCH. They charge a daily rental fee and reserving your child’s seat is easy when you book through KAYAK. Their rentals are equipped with a GPS navigation system to help renters to look up addresses and get to locations around greater Chicago.

  • Does Avis car rentals in Chicago have accessibility services?

    Yes. The Avis Cares Program provides a full range of products and services for passengers with special needs. For passengers with disabilities, Avis car rentals in Chicago provides hand controls, spinner knobs, a swivel seat, and a transfer board for wheelchair users at no extra cost. These devices are provided upon request and the company requests to be notified at least one day before the pick-up to ensure their availability. Passengers who are visually impaired are allowed a surrogate driver who meets the Avis driver requirements at no extra cost.

  • Can I choose my own rental at Avis car rentals in Chicago or will I be assigned one by Avis?

    With the Avis Preferred Select & Go program, you can select the rental of your choice based on the class, make, and model at O’Hare International Airport in Chicago. This car-sharing service also allows you to exchange your pre-assigned vehicle at no additional cost. In addition, for a daily fee, you can upgrade your vehicle class to luxury car rentals, SUV rentals, or pickup truck rentals if you desire.

  • How much does it cost to rent a car from Avis in Chicago?

    On average a rental car from Avis in Chicago costs C$ 183 per day.

  • What is the most popular rental car from Avis in Chicago?

    Compact (Nissan Rogue or similar) is the most frequently booked rental car type from Avis in Chicago.

  • How many car rental locations does Avis have in Chicago?

    Avis has 12 rental locations in Chicago. Take a look at our Avis rental location map to find the best rental cars near you.

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: O'Hare Intl airport (ORD)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from O'Hare Intl airport (ORD)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Midway airport (MDW)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Midway airport (MDW)?

    Yes

  • Does Avis have a car rental location at the airport: Greater Rockford airport (RFD)?

    No (According to our data)

  • Does Avis offer shuttle or airport pick-up services from Greater Rockford airport (RFD)?

    Yes